#### 35085

## APPROVED-BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 MAY 3, 2024

#### BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

#### **MINUTES**

MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC AFFAIRS AND STUDENT SERVICES
THURSDAY, APRIL 4, 2024
HAROLD WASHINGTON COLLEGE
30 EAST LAKE STREET, CHICAGO, IL 60601
ROOM 1115

Pursuant to provisions of the Illinois Public Community College Act, as amended by the State of Illinois, County of Cook, a meeting of the Committee on Academic Affairs and Student Services of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on Thursday, April 4, 2024, at 12:32 p.m., Harold Washington College, 30 East Lake Street, Chicago, IL 60601, Room 1115.

#### **ATTENDEES**

#### **TRUSTEES**

Elizabeth Swanson, Committee Chair Peggy A. Davis, Secretary Katya Nuques Laritza Lopez Marshall E. Hatch Sr. Oscar Sanchez Yehuda Goldbloom, Student Trustee

## **CHANCELLOR**

Juan Salgado

# PROVOST AND CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER

Mark Potter

## **GENERAL COUNSEL**

Karla Gowen

#### **CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD**

Bonnie Phillips

## SENIOR ASSISTANT BOARD LIAISON

Emma Mims

#### **ASSISTANT BOARD LIAISON**

Avery Walls

#### **OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT**

David Deyhle – Vice Chancellor, Strategic Marketing and Branding
David Anthony – Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services
Carol Dunning – Chief Talent Officer
Veronica Herrero – Chief Strategy Officer
Zarko Njakara – Chief Information Officer
Jennifer Mason – Vice Chancellor, Legislative & Community
Affairs

Christian Collins – Vice Chancellor, Institutional Effectiveness

Maribel Rodriguez – Chief Financial Officer

Aarti Dhupelia – Executive Vice Chancellor/ Chief of Student Experience Officer

Peggy Korellis- Vice Chancellor, High School Strategy Darryl Williams - Vice Chancellor, Enrollment Management

Stacia Edwards – Deputy Provost

Sarah Lichtenstein Walter - Associate Vice Chancellor, Academic Programs

## **PRESIDENTS**

Kimberly Hollingsworth – President, Olive-Harvey College Shawn L. Jackson – President, Harry S Truman College Janine Janosky – President, Richard J. Daley College Daniel López – President, Harold Washington College David Potash – President, Wright College Katonja Webb Walker – President, Kennedy-King College David Sanders – President, Malcolm X College

## I. CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chair Swanson called the April 4, 2024 meeting of the Committee on Academic Affairs and Student Services to order at 12:32 p.m.

## II. ROLL CALL

The Chief Advisor called roll:

Elizabeth Swanson	Present
Peggy A. Davis	Present
Laritza Lopez	Present
Katya Nuques	Present
Marshall E. Hatch Sr.	Present
Oscar Sanchez	Present
Darlene Oliver Hightower	Absent
Yehuda Goldbloom	Present

Quorum confirmed.

## III. WELCOME

Vice Chair Swanson welcomed everyone to the April 4<sup>th</sup>, 2024 Academic Affairs and Student Services Committee Meeting.

Today, we welcome our newest members to the board of trustees, Marshall E. Hatch Sr., Darlene Hightower, Katya Nuques, and Oscar Sanchez.

Vice Chair Swanson called on Provost Mark Potter for remarks on behalf of Academic Affairs and Student Services.

## IV. PROVOST REMARKS

Provost Potter began by thanking Student Trustee Goldbloom for serving with dedication and thoughtfulness during his time as student trustee.

Registration has opened just this week for both new and continuing students to enroll in classes beyond this spring semester. For the very first time, students can register for "guaranteed to run" classes for an entire year in summer, in fall, and then also in the spring of 2025. With this change, students will know their schedules for the entire academic year.

Provost Potter acknowledged the leadership of Associate Vice Chancellor Laura Clark, who oversees student records and academic systems, and Associate Vice Chancellor Brittney Jackson Kairis who oversees decision support for their leadership and approach to change management. He also recognized the College academic leaders namely the

Vice Presidents and Deans for working toward this shared objective of a strategic year-long schedule.

In committee today, Chancellor Salgado President Sanders President Webb Walker, and University of Chicago Associate Vice President Angelica Marx will co-present on the expansion of Health Care programs to Chicago's South Side.

## V. PRESENTATION

Speakers: Chancellor Juan Salgado, President David Sanders (MXC), President Katonja Webb Walker (KKC), Associate Vice President Angela Marx (University of Chicago)

## • Southside Health Care Expansion

The full presentation can be found on the Board of Trustee website.

## VI. REVIEW OF FEBRUARY 2024 BOARD REPORTS

Vice Chair Swanson initiated the review of the April 2024 board reports.

Resolution 1.00, the election of officers 2024, will be reviewed at the April Regular Board Meeting. VC Anthony reviewed Resolutions 1.01 and 1.02, Provost Potter reviewed Resolution 1.03, VC Arrington Jones reviewed Resolution 1.04

CTO Dunning reviewed Item 2.00 Personnel Report

EVC Herrero reviewed Item 3.00 Resource Development Report.

VC Anthony reviewed Agreement 4.00, President Sanders reviewed Agreement 4.01 VC Williams reviewed Agreement 4.02, CTO Dunning reviewed Agreement 4.03 Provost Potter reviewed Agreement 4.04, GC Gowen reviewed Agreement 4.05 CIO Njakara reviewed Agreement 4.06.

VC Anthony reviewed Purchases 5.00 and 5.01, President Jackson reviewed Purchase 5.02

General Counsel Gowen reviewed Item 6.00 Payment of Legal Invoices

## VII. MOTION TO DISCHARGE THE APRIL 2024 BOARD PACKET

Vice Chair Swanson asked for a motion to discharge the reviewed resolutions, personnel report, resource development report, agreements, purchases, and legal invoices to the April 2024 Regular Board Meeting as part of the Consent Agenda excluding Resolution 1.00, the election of officers 2024, which will be presented at the regular board meeting.

<Motion> Trustee Laritza Lopez <Second> Trustee Peggy A. Davis Motion carried.

## VIII. ADJOURNMENT

Upon concluding that there was no further business to be brought before the committee, Vice Chair Swanson asked for a motion to adjourn.

<Motion> Trustee Peggy A. Davis <Second> Trustee Marshall E. Hatch Sr.

Motion carried.

Meeting Adjourned 1:35 p.m.

Peggy A. Davis Secretary Board of Trustees

Submitted by – Avery Walls, Assistant Board Liaison