33180

ADOPTED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 APRIL 6, 2017

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION OF CHERYL L. HYMAN OFFICE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

WHEREAS, Cheryl L. Hyman has served with distinction as Chancellor of the City Colleges of Chicago since March 2010; and

WHEREAS, under her tenure and the Reinvention initiative, tens of thousands of City Colleges of Chicago students have benefited from Chancellor Hyman's leadership; and

WHEREAS, the number of degrees conferred annually and the federally defined graduation rate have more than doubled; and

WHEREAS, more than \$70 million in efficiencies and savings have been redirected to classrooms across the District; and

WHEREAS, through College to Careers, City Colleges of Chicago has revamped its curriculum with the help of 200 industry partners to ensure its curriculum better aligns with the expectations of employers and four-year colleges and universities, and College to Careers has resulted in more than 3,000 documented paid internships or job placements; and

WHEREAS, the transfer rate for students who complete a City Colleges degree increased to 47 percent; and

WHEREAS, Chancellor Hyman implemented a \$524 million capital program, including the new Malcolm X College, to improve facilities and better support student learning; and

WHEREAS, Chancellor Hyman has established many new and fruitful relationships with four-year institutions, employers and community organizations to the benefit of our students and the residents of the City of Chicago.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, County of Cook and State of Illinois, gathered here on this sixth day of April, 2017 do hereby commend Cheryl L. Hyman for her invaluable contributions to the District and her unwavering commitment to the students and staff of the City Colleges of Chicago and wish her continuing success in the future.

April 6, 2017 – Office of the Board of Trustees