#### **32761** Approved – Board of trustees community college district no. 508 september 3, 2015

### BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

### MINUTES

### REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY, AUGUST 6, 2015 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD, ROOM 300

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on August 6, 2015 at 9:00 a.m., District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, Illinois 60606.

## **ATTENDEES**

## TRUSTEES

Charles R. Middleton, Chair Gary Gardner, Vice Chair Isaac S. Goldman Darrell Griffin Karen Kent Marisela Lawson Eliana Blancas, Student Trustee

### ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Candace Montgomery

### CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Tracey B. Fleming

### CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

## **GENERAL COUNSEL**

Eugene Munin

# **INSPECTOR GENERAL**

John Gasiorowski

## **OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT**

Joyce Carson – Vice Chancellor, Finance and CFO Jim Frankenbach – Chief Operating Officer Craig Lynch – Chief of Staff and Enterprise Services Rasmus Lynnerup – Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Strategy Officer Jerrold Martin – Vice Chancellor, Information Technology Beatrice O'Donnell – Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security Stephanie Tomino – Vice Chancellor, Human Resources Carole Wood – Vice Chancellor, Institutional Advancement

## **COLLEGE PRESIDENTS**

President Jose Aybar, Daley College President Arshele Stevens, Kennedy-King College Interim President David Sanders, Malcolm X College President Angelia Millender, Olive-Harvey College President Reagan Romali, Truman College President David Potash, Wright College

## FACULTY COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Professor Jennifer Alexander, Daley College

## **OTHER ATTENDEES:**

Roberto Concepcion	CCC - District Office
Kai Love Davis	CCC - District Office
Sharod Gordon	CCC - District Office
Katheryn Hayes	CCC - District Office
Leah Heinecke-Krumhus	CCC - District Office
Shelia Johnson	CCC - District Office
Chris Kopp	CCC - District Office
Ruth Marquez	CCC - District Office
Scott Martyn	CCC - District Office
Ralph Passarelli	CCC - District Office
Frank Russo	CCC - District Office
Steve Saba	CCC - District Office
Kimberly Taylor	CCC - Faculty
Jo Ann Burnside	CCC - Faculty - DC
Benita Hunter	CCC - Faculty - DC
Jess Bader	CCC - Faculty - HWC
Stephanie Burke	CCC - Faculty - HWC
Janvier Jones	CCC - Faculty - HWC
Jeni Meresman	CCC - Faculty - HWC
Carrie Nepstad	CCC - Faculty - HWC
Alishia Atkins	CCC - Faculty - KKC
Maria Kossakowski	CCC - Faculty - MXC
Geoff Martin	CCC - Faculty - TC
Kim Knutson	CCC - Faculty - WC
Julius Nadas	CCC - Faculty - WC
Tania Guzman	CCC - Student
Chole Pastor	CCC - Student
Shayan Tavakhatiri	CCC - Student
M. Alipa	CCC - Student - HWC
Anastasia Beklemisheva	CCC - Student - HWC
Stepanie Landy Esposito	CCC - Student - HWC
Victor Guzman	CCC - Student - HWC
Damian Hernandez	CCC - Student - HWC
Angel Madrigal	CCC - Student - HWC
Gustavo Ott	CCC - Student - HWC
Molly Turner	CCC - Student - HWC
Mark Patoska	Civic Federation
Ian Fullerton	Daily Whale
Delores Whithers	Local 1708
Arionne Nettles	Medill Reporter
Meredith Francis	WBEZ
Elena Sakopnios	Young Invincibles
Bonnie Alexander	-

## I. <u>CALL TO ORDER REGULAR BOARD MEETING</u>

Trustee Lawson called to order the August 6, 2015 regular Board Meeting at 9:00 a.m.

## II. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Clarisol Duque	Absent
Gary Gardner	Present
Isaac S. Goldman	Present
Darrell Griffin	Present
Karen Kent	Present
Marisela Lawson	Present
Charles R. Middleton	Present
Eliana Blancas (Student Trustee)	Present

Trustee Lawson acknowledged that in accordance with the Illinois Public Community College Act and the Illinois Open Meetings Act, there was a quorum.

Trustee Lawson asked the body to go out of the regular order of business to consider the election of Board Officers and to approve Resolution 1.00 in accordance with section 1.4.2 of the Board Bylaws.

Trustee Darrell Griffin nominated Charles R. Middleton as Chair, Gary Gardner as Vice Chair and Clarisol Duque as Secretary. Trustee Goldman seconded this nomination.

Trustee Lawson asked for a motion to approve Resolution 1.00 - Election of Board Officers

<Motion>Trustee Darrell Griffin <Second>Trustee Gary Gardner

The motion was carried and the Resolution was approved with a voice vote of the members present.

## III. <u>REMARKS FROM CHAIR MIDDLETON</u>

Chair Middleton stated that he was happy to be a member of the board and looks forward to engaging with the Chancellor, senior leadership, students, faculty and other stakeholders in support of the continued efforts to make CCC a model 2-year institution.

## IV. <u>CHANCELLOR'S UPDATES</u>

Chancellor Hyman welcomed the new board members and stated that she looks forward to working with them to continue the strong progress CCC has made with reinvention. Chancellor Hyman went on to discuss student outcomes associated with reinvention efforts, College to Career and related program consolidations, and state funding cuts and the resulting flat rate tuition increase.

## V. <u>PUBLIC PARTICIATION</u>

There were five public participants.

- 1. Alishia Atkins addressed the Board regarding the Child Development Program.
- 2. Carrie Nepstad addressed the Board regarding the Child Development Program.
- 3. Benita Hunter addressed the Board regarding the Child Development Program.
- 4. Janvier Jones addressed the Board regarding the Child Development Program.
- 5. Stephanie Esposito addressed the Board regarding the tuition increase.

### VI. <u>FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT</u>

Professor Jennifer Meresman presented the faculty council report. The report can be found here.

### VII. <u>REVIEW OF AGENDA ITEMS</u>

Chair Middleton asked the Vice Chancellors for an oral review of the Board agenda items, beginning with 1.01 and ending with 6.00. These items had previously been reviewed in detail at a "chair briefing".

Trustee Goldman asked the administration to include competitive bid information as part of the Job Order Contract (JOC) report. He also asked for a review of the District's professional services providers.

### VIII. APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEMS AND REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Chair Middleton asked for a motion to approve the August 6, 2015 Board packet and the July 9, 2015 Regular Board Meeting minutes.

<Motion>Trustee Darrell Griffin <Second>Trustee Marisela Lawson Motion Carried

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Gary Gardner	Aye
Isaac S. Goldman	Aye (Abstained from the July 9, 2015 Minutes)
Darrell Griffin	Aye
Karen Kent	Aye

Marisela LawsonAyeCharles R. MiddletonAye (Abstained from the July 9, 2015 Minutes)

There were six ayes, zero nays and two abstentions on the July 9, 2015 Minutes.

### IX. <u>CLOSED SESSION</u>

Pursuant to the Open Meetings Act section 2(c)2, Chair Middleton called for a motion to hold Closed Session at 9:42 a.m. for the discussion of collective bargaining matters.

<Motion>Trustee Darrell Griffin <Second>Trustee Marisela Lawson Motion Carried

### X. <u>RETURN FROM CLOSED SESSION</u>

Closed Session ended at 10:11 a.m. There was no action taken during closed session.

### XI. MOTION TO ADJOURN

Chair Middleton asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

<Motion>Trustee Isaac S. Goldman <Second>Trustee Karen Kent

The meeting adjourned at 10:13 a.m.

Secretary Clarisol Duque Board of Trustees

Submitted by - Candace M. Montgomery, Assistant Board Secretary