32581

APPROVED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 MARCH 5, 2015

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 2015 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD, ROOM 300

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on February 5, 2015 at 9:00 a.m., District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, Illinois 60606.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Ellen Alberding, Vice Chair Larry Rogers, Secretary Clarisol Duque Darrell Griffin Marisela Lawson Everett Rand Jacques Sarr, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Candace Montgomery

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Leah Heinecke-Krumhus

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

Eugene Munin

CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER

Vernese Edghill-Walden

INSPECTOR GENERAL

John Gasiorowski

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Joyce Carson – Vice Chancellor, Finance
Jim Frankenbach – Chief Operating Officer
Craig Lynch – Chief of Staff/Enterprise Services
Rasmus Lynnerup – Vice Chancellor, Strategy, Research and
Organizational Effectiveness
Jerrold Martin – Vice Chancellor, Information Technology
Diane Minor – Vice Chancellor, Administrative and Procurement Services
Beatrice O'Donnell – Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security
Laurent Pernot – Executive Vice Chancellor
Stephanie Tomino – Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Carole Wood – Vice Chancellor, Institutional Advancement

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College
Interim President, Margaret Martyn, Harold Washington College
President Arshele Stevens, Kennedy-King College
President Anthony Munroe, Malcolm X College
President Angelia Millender, Olive-Harvey College
President Reagan Romali, Truman College
President David Potash, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Professor Joseph Craan, Olive-Harvey

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Kai Love Davis **CCC-District Office** Tracey Fleming CCC-District Office Sharod Gordon **CCC-District Office CCC-District Office** Katheryn Hayes Dewayne Howard **CCC-District Office** Sarah Levee **CCC-District Office** Kyle O'rourke **CCC-District Office** Ralph Passarelli **CCC-District Office** Steve Saba **CCC-District Office David Sanders CCC-District Office** Arlene Strong **CCC-District Office** Mark Patoska Civic Federation Tom Butala Daily Whale **Anthony Johnston** Local 1600 **David Richmond** Local 1600 Rochelle Robinson-Dukes Local 1600

Dennis Fitzgerald Local 1600/Wright College

Delores Withers Local 1708

I. CALL TO ORDER REGULAR BOARD MEETING

Vice Chair Alberding called to order the February 5, 2015 regular Board Meeting at 9:03 a.m.

II. ROLL CALL

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Chair Paula Wolff Absent Vice Chair Ellen Alberding Present Secretary Larry Rogers, Sr. Present Trustee Clarisol Duque Present Trustee Darrell Griffin Present Trustee Marisela Lawson Present Trustee Everett Rand Present Student Trustee Jacques Sarr Present

Vice Chair Alberding acknowledged that in accordance with the Illinois Public Community College Act and the Illinois Open Meetings Act, there was a quorum.

III. <u>COMMITTEE REPORTS</u>

Trustee Duque reported on the January 22, 2015 Committee on Finance and Administrative Services.

IV. PUBLIC PARTICIATION

There were two public participants.

- 1. Anthony Johnston, Legislative Director-Cook County College Teachers Union (Local 1600) addressed the Board regarding state funding for community colleges in Illinois and Map grants for students.
- 2. Dennis Fitzgerald, Security Officer-Wright College addressed the Board regarding collective bargaining, particularly salary concerns affecting security personnel at CCC.

V. <u>CHANCELLOR'S UPDATES</u>

Chancellor Hyman discussed the attendance campaign where staff reached out to students who were identified as being absent in GradesFirst. Chancellor Hyman noted that the District is also leveraging GradesFirst to conduct early alert progress reports and connect students with the appropriate resources.

Chancellor Hyman also congratulated the Kennedy-King women's basket-ball team and Olive-Harvey's men's basketball team who have been doing well this semester. The National Junior College Athletic Association has polled them, respectively, top 25 and top 20 in their division.

VI. <u>DISTRICT UPDATES</u>

No District Updates.

VII. FACUTLY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Craan presented on the following:

- Fewer complaints regarding the on-line bookstore, which has been a step in the right direction.
- Volunteer faculty have been selected and the planning process for the Fall 2015 Faculty Development Week is underway.
- Faculty received a presentation on Campus Solutions. He would like to discuss further with the Office Academic Affairs.
- Meeting with Student Trustee Jacque Sarr to discuss student-teacher relationships and how faculty can better serve students.
- First Year Experience project, which focuses on student placement

VIII. REVIEW OF AGENDA ITEMS

Vice Chair Alberding asked the Vice Chancellors for an oral review of the Board agenda items, beginning with 1.00 and ending with 6.00. These motions had previously been reviewed in detail at a "chair briefing".

IX. <u>APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEMS, COMMITTEE MINUTES, AND REGULAR BOARD</u> MINUTES

Vice Chair Alberding entertained a motion to approve the February 5, 2015 Board packet, December 11, 2014 Ad Hoc Construction Committee Minutes and the January 8, 2015 Regular Board meeting minutes by a roll call vote.

<Motion> Trustee Everett Rand

<Second> Trustee Larry Rogers Motion Carried

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Vice Chair, Ellen Alberding
Secretary, Larry Rogers
Aye
Trustee Clarisol Duque
Aye
Trustee Darrell Griffin
Aye
Trustee Marisela Lawson
Aye
Trustee Everett Rand
Aye

There were six ayes and zero nays.

X. CLOSED SESSION

No Closed Session.

XI. MOTION TO ADJOURN

Vice Chair Alberding asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

<Motion>Trustee Clarisol Duque

<Second>Trustee Everett Rand

Meeting adjourned at 9:43 a.m.

Larry R. Rogers, Sr. Secretary, Board of Trustees

Submitted by - Candace M. Montgomery, Assistant Board Secretary