32675 APPROVED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 JUNE 4, 2015

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY, MAY 7, 2015 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD, ROOM 300

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on May 7, 2015 at 9:00 a.m., District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, Illinois 60606.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Paula Wolff, Chair Ellen Alberding, Vice Chair Larry Rogers, Sr., Secretary Clarisol Duque Darrell Griffin Marisela Lawson Eliana Blancas, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Candace Montgomery

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Tracey B. Fleming

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

Eugene Munin

CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER

Vernese Edghill-Walden

INSPECTOR GENERAL

John Gasiorowski

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Joyce Carson – Vice Chancellor, Finance and CFO
Jim Frankenbach – Chief Operating Officer
Craig Lynch – Chief of Staff and Enterprise Services
Rasmus Lynnerup – Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief
Strategy Officer
Jerrold Martin – Vice Chancellor, Information Technology
Diane Minor – Vice Chancellor, Administrative and Procurement
Services

Beatrice O'Donnell – Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security Laurent Pernot – Executive Vice Chancellor Stephanie Tomino – Vice Chancellor, Human Resources Carole Wood – Vice Chancellor, Institutional Advancement

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College President Margaret Martyn, Harold Washington College President Arshele Stevens, Kennedy-King College President Anthony Munroe, Malcolm X College President Angelia Millender, Olive-Harvey College President David Potash, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Professor Jennifer Alexander, Daley College

OTHER ATTENDEES:

Kai Love Davis **CCC** - District Office J.R. Dempsey CCC - District Office Katheryn Hayes CCC - District Office Sarah Levee CCC - District Office Scott Martyn CCC - District Office Ralph Passarelli CCC - District Office Joanne Riordan CCC - District Office Steve Saba CCC - District Office **David Sanders** CCC - District Office Arlene Strong CCC - District Office

Angela Guernica CCC - Harold Washington College
Jonathan Hardy CCC - Harold Washington College
O'Kema Lewis CCC - Harold Washington College
Josh Mac-Williams CCC - Harold Washington College
John Madsen CCC - Harold Washington College
Naila Opiangah CCC - Harold Washington College

Maria Kossakowski CCC - Malcom X College
Juluis Nadas CCC - Wright College
Mark Patoska Civic Federation

Mary Basel Christopher Haworth
Audrey Butler Local 1708
Delores Withers Local 1708

Daniel Starr

I. CALL TO ORDER REGULAR BOARD MEETING

Chair Wolff called to order the May 7, 2015 regular Board Meeting at 9:03 a.m.

II. ROLL CALL

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Chair Paula Wolff Present Vice Chair Ellen Alberding Present Secretary Larry Rogers, Sr. Present Trustee Clarisol Duque Present Trustee Darrell Griffin Present Trustee Marisela Lawson Present Trustee Everett Rand Absent Student Trustee Eliana Blancas Present Chair Wolff acknowledged that in accordance with the Illinois Public Community College Act and the Illinois Open Meetings Act, there was a quorum.

III. REMARKS FROM THE CHAIR

Vice Chair Alberding and Trustee Duque shared remarks regarding the 2015 Commencement Ceremony. Vice Chair Alberding stated that it was a wonderful event in which she was honored and proud to be a part of. Trustee Duque stated that it was great to see the culmination of such hard work from everyone; students, faculty and administrators.

Trustee Duque reported on the April 28, 2015 Committee on Finance and Administrative Services. The committee received an update on the FY2015 and FY2016 financials, campus solutions, internal audit and capital projects.

Chair Wolff noted that Trustee Rand attended the monthly Chair Review meeting. She also acknowledged and thanked court reporter Martha Newton for the work she does in transcribing Board meetings. Ms. Newton is retiring from her work as a transcriber to pursue other opportunities. She also welcomed the new Faculty Council President, Jennifer Alexander and introduced the new Student Trustee Eliana Blancas. Ms. Blancas thanked the Chair for the introduction and expressed how honored she is to represent the student body.

IV. PUBLIC PARTICIATION

There were no public participants.

V. <u>CHANCELLOR'S UPDATES</u>

Chancellor Hyman congratulated the graduating class of 2015 along with the faculty and administrators who helped them reach this goal. She thanked AVC Preston Harden for his efforts in organizing the commencement ceremony. She thanked the Board for their continued support of the City College of Chicago, with special thanks to Vice Chair Alberding and Clarisol Duque who were in attendance.

Chancellor Hyman introduced Professor John Madsen and architectural students, Joshua Mac-Williams, Jonathan Hardy and Naila Opiangah who presented a model of the Olive-Harvey TDL Center and shared remarks regarding their experience.

To conclude her remarks, Chancellor Hyman introduced and welcomed the new Faculty Council President Jennifer Alexander.

VI. DISTRICT UPDATE

Inspector General John Gasiorowski provided an update on the Office of the Inspector General. The presentation can be found here.

VII. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Jennifer Alexander presented the faculty council report. The report can be found <u>here</u>.

VIII. REVIEW OF AGENDA ITEMS

Chair Wolff asked the Vice Chancellors for an oral review of the Board agenda items, beginning with 1.00 and ending with 6.00. These items had previously been reviewed in detail at a "chair briefing".

IX. APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEMS AND REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Chair Wolff asked for a motion to approve the May 7, 2015 Board packet, the March 31, 2015 Ad Hoc Construction Committee minutes, the April 6, 2015 Academic Affairs and Student Services Committee minutes and the April 9, 2015 Regular Board Meeting minutes.

<Motion>Trustee Ellen Alberding

<Second>Trustee Marisela Lawson Motion Carried

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Chair Paula Wolff Aye
Vice Chair Ellen Alberding Aye
Secretary Larry Rogers, Sr. Aye
Trustee Clarisol Duque Aye
Trustee Darrell Griffin Aye
Trustee Marisela Lawson Aye

There were six ayes and zero nays. Trustee Clarisol Duque recused herself from appointment 27 of the Personnel Report.

X. CLOSED SESSION

Pursuant to the Open Meetings 2(c)1, 2(c)2, 2(c)11 and 2(c)21 Chair Wolff called for a motion to hold Closed Session at 9:59 a.m. for the discussion of personnel, collective bargaining, litigation and closed session matters.

<Motion>Trustee Larry Rogers, Sr.

<Second>Trustee Clarisol Duque Motion Carried

XI. RETURN FROM CLOSED SESSION

Closed Session ended at 10:52 a.m. There was no action taken during closed session.

XII. MOTION TO ADJOURN

Chair Wolff asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

<Motion>Trustee Clarisol Duque

<Second>Trustee Larry Rogers, Sr.

Meeting adjourned at 10:52 a.m.

Larry R. Rogers, Sr. Secretary, Board of Trustees

Submitted by - Candace M. Montgomery, Assistant Board Secretary