32427

APPROVED-BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 OCTOBER 2, 2014

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 4, 2014 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD, ROOM 300

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on September 4, 2014 at 9:00 a.m., District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, Illinois 60606.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Paula Wolff, Chair Ellen Alberding, Vice Chair Clarisol Duque Darrell Griffin Marisela Lawson Everett Rand Jacques Sarr, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Candace Montgomery

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Leah Heinecke-Krumhus

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

Eugene Munin

PROVOST/ CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER

Vernese Edghill-Walden

INSPECTOR GENERAL

John Gasiorowski

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Joyce Carson – Vice Chancellor, Finance/Business Enterprise
Jim Frankenbach – Chief Operating Officer
Craig Lynch – Chief of Staff/Enterprise Services
Rasmus Lynnerup – Vice Chancellor, Strategy, Research and
Organizational Effectiveness
Jerrold Martin – Vice Chancellor, Information Technology
Diane Minor – Vice Chancellor, Administrative and Procurement Services
Beatrice O'Donnell – Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security
Stephanie Tomino – Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Carole Wood – Vice Chancellor, Institutional Advancement

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College Interim President, Margaret Martyn, Harold Washington College President Arshele Stevens, Kennedy-King College President Anthony Munroe, Malcolm X College President Angelia Millender, Olive-Harvey College President Reagan Romali, Truman College President David Potash, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Joseph Craan – Olive-Harvey College

OTHER ATTENDEES:

J.R. Dempsey	CCC - District Office
Sharod Gordon	CCC - District Office
Katheryn Hayes	CCC - District Office
Phillip Jones	CCC - District Office
Kai Love Davis	CCC - District Office
Scott Martyn	CCC - District Office
Lavinia Owen	CCC - District Office
Ralph Passarelli	CCC - District Office
Steve Saba	CCC - District Office
David Sanders	CCC - District Office
Arlene Strong	CCC - District Office
Tom Butala	Daily Whale

I. CALL TO ORDER REGULAR BOARD MEETING

Chair Wolff called to order the September 4, 2014 regular Board Meeting at 9:06 a.m.

II. ROLL CALL

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Present
Present
Absent
Present

Chair Wolff acknowledged that in accordance with the Illinois Public Community College Act and the Illinois Open Meetings Act, there was a quorum.

III. REMARKS FROM THE CHAIR

Trustee Lawson reported on the August 20, 2014 Committee on Academic Affairs and Student Services.

Chair Wolff mentioned the Inspector General report to be presented by John Gasiorowski later in the meeting and noted that any personnel matters cited in the report would be discussed in closed session as per the Open Meetings Act.

IV. PUBLIC PARTICIATION

There were no public participants

V. <u>CHANCELLOR'S UPDATES</u>

Chancellor Hyman shared that Kennedy-King College has been selected as one of the top 10 finalist for the Aspen Prize of Community College Excellence. She noted the progress Kennedy-King has made and congratulated the leadership team along with the faculty, staff and students. The Aspen prize winner(s) will be announced in March of 2015.

VI. DISTRICT UPDATES

Vice Chancellor Beatrice O'Donnell provided a safety and security update. The presentation can be found here.

Chair Wolff asked VC O'Donnell to provide more information about disturbance and information reports and asked if students were charged in any of the types of incidents cited in the presentation. VC O'Donnell stated that disturbances are situations in which the security team responds to a disturbance on campus. An information report refers to incidences involving CCC students that occur off-site. VC O'Donnell also noted that the incidents noted are not charges against the students.

Chair Wolff also inquired if the rate of incidents between campuses can be attributed to any particular factors. Chancellor Hyman stated that each campus differs in demographics and circumstances.

Trustee Duque asked about theft occurring from students vs. individuals coming in from the outside. VC O'Donnell stated that most theft occurs from fellow students. Security measures have been put in place to limit outside parties from entering the building. Security staff checks identification upon entering the building. Additionally, Harold Washington College has installed turnstiles that limit entrance into the school. Other campuses are soon to follow.

Inspector General John Gasiorowski provided an IG update. The presentation can be found here.

Trustee Griffin asked why only 58 percent of cases are pursued. IG Gasiorowski stated that the remainder of the cases are referred to other departments who are better equipped to handle said cases. An example would be a financial aid matter that would be referred to the Office of Finance.

Chair Wolff asked if referred cases were then re-referred to OIG if warranted. IG Gasiorowski stated that this has occurred on a few occasions.

VII. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Joseph Craan reported on the faculty's involvement in the new Proposed Academic Curriculum Change process. He also expressed concern about senior staff turnover.

VIII. REVIEW OF AGENDA ITEMS

Chair Wolff asked the Vice Chancellors for an oral review of the Board agenda items, beginning with 1.00 and ending with 6.00. These motions had previously been reviewed in detail at a "chair briefing".

IX. <u>APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEMS, COMMITTEE MINUTES, AND REGULAR BOARD MINUTES</u>

Chair Wolff entertained a motion to approve the September 4, 2014 Board packet and the August 7, 2014 Regular Board meeting minutes by a roll call vote.

<Motion> Trustee Everett Rand

<Second> Trustee Clarisol Duque Motion Carried

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Chair Wolff Aye
Vice Chair Alberding Aye
Trustee Clarisol Duque Aye
Trustee Darrell Griffin Aye
Trustee Marisela Lawson Aye
Trustee Everett Rand Aye

There were six ayes and zero nays.

X. CLOSED SESSION

Pursuant to the Open Meetings Act, 2(c)1, 2(c)11, 2(c)21 Chair Wolff called for a motion to hold Closed Session at 9:54 a.m. for the discussion of personnel, litigation and closed session matters.

<Motion>Trustee Everett Rand

<Second>Trustee Clarisol Duque Motion Carried

XI. RETURN FROM CLOSED SESSION

Closed Session ended at 10:31 a.m. There was no action taken during closed session.

XII. MOTION TO ADJOURN

Chair Wolff asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

<Motion>Trustee Marisela Lawson

<Second>Trustee Everett Rand

Meeting adjourned at 10:31 a.m.

Larry R. Rogers, Sr. Secretary, Board of Trustees

Submitted by - Candace M. Montgomery, Assistant Board Secretary