#### 32457 APPROVED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 NOVEMBER 10, 2014

### BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

#### MINUTES

#### REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY, OCTOBER 2, 2014 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD, ROOM 300

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on October 2, 2014 at 9:00 a.m., District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, Illinois 60606.

## **ATTENDEES**

### TRUSTEES

Paula Wolff, Chair Ellen Alberding, Vice Chair Larry Rogers, Secretary Clarisol Duque Darrell Griffin Marisela Lawson Everett Rand Jacques Sarr, Student Trustee

### ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Candace Montgomery

### CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Leah Heinecke-Krumhus

### CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

## **GENERAL COUNSEL**

Eugene Munin

## CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER

Vernese Edghill-Walden

## **INSPECTOR GENERAL**

John Gasiorowski

## **OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT**

Joyce Carson – Vice Chancellor, Finance/Business Enterprise Jim Frankenbach – Chief Operating Officer Craig Lynch – Chief of Staff/Enterprise Services Rasmus Lynnerup – Vice Chancellor, Strategy, Research and Organizational Effectiveness Jerrold Martin – Vice Chancellor, Information Technology Diane Minor – Vice Chancellor, Administrative and Procurement Services Beatrice O'Donnell – Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security Stephanie Tomino – Vice Chancellor, Human Resources Carole Wood – Vice Chancellor, Institutional Advancement

## **COLLEGE PRESIDENTS**

President Jose Aybar, Daley College Interim President, Margaret Martyn, Harold Washington College President Arshele Stevens, Kennedy-King College President Anthony Munroe, Malcolm X College President Angelia Millender, Olive-Harvey College President Reagan Romali, Truman College President David Potash, Wright College

## FACULTY COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Joseph Craan - Olive-Harvey College

# **OTHER ATTENDEES:**

Kai Lov Davis	CCC-District Office
Kai LUV Davis	CCC-District Office
Sharod Gordon	CCC-District Office
Preston Harden	CCC-District Office
Katheryn Hayes	CCC-District Office
Phillip Jones	CCC-District Office
Scott Martyn	CCC-District Office
Ralph Passarelli	CCC-District Office
Steve Saba	CCC-District Office
David Sanders	CCC-District Office
Audrey Butler	Local 1708
Delores Withers	Local 1708
Michael Bailey	

### I. <u>CALL TO ORDER REGULAR BOARD MEETING</u>

Chair Wolff called to order the October 2, 2014 regular Board Meeting at 9:00 a.m.

### II. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Chair Paula Wolff	Present
Vice Chair Ellen Alberding	Present
Secretary Larry Rogers, Sr.	Present
Trustee Clarisol Duque	Present
Trustee Darrell Griffin	Present
Trustee Marisela Lawson	Present
Trustee Everett Rand	Present
Student Trustee Jacques Sarr	Present

Chair Wolff acknowledged that in accordance with the Illinois Public Community College Act and the Illinois Open Meetings Act, there was a quorum.

### III. <u>REMARKS FROM THE CHAIR</u>

Chair Wolff reported on the September 24, 2014 Ad Hoc Construction Committee, made note of her visit to the Arturo Valasquez Institute and Mayor Emanuel and Chancellor Hyman's announcement regarding the Star Scholarship program for CPS high school students.

## IV. <u>PUBLIC PARTICIATION</u>

There were no public participants

### V. <u>CHANCELLOR'S UPDATES</u>

Chancellor Hyman discussed the launch of the Star Scholarship program.

### VI. <u>DISTRICT UPDATES</u>

Vice Chancellor Rasmus Lynnerup and Chief Academic Officer Vernese Edghill-Walden presented the new structure of the Office of Strategy and Institutional Intelligence and the Office of Academic Affairs. The full presentation can be found <u>here</u>.

Vice Chair Alberding mentioned the idea of students "wandering" through the curriculum and asked VC Lynnerup to explain the restrictions put into place to stop student wandering. VC Lynnerup stated that it's nearly impossible to wander through the system. When students are on a set pathway they are limited to the curricula sequence for that particular degree/certificate.

With respect to COMPASS testing, Chair Wolff shared remarks about students who have expressed being unprepared for testing and negatively impacted by the results. Chair Wolff encouraged continued research on how to effectively use placement tests. Chancellor Hyman stated that the District has begun aggressive outreach to CPS to inform students about placement tests. She also noted that some students are good performers but may not be very good test takers. She stated that there are many factors to consider. Vice Chair Alberding asked if there are prep tests available for COMPASS. Vice Chancellor Lynnerup stated that there are prep tests available.

Chair Wolff shared remarks regarding the reorganization and stated that she's optimistic about the outcome. Trustee Lawson stated that she's excited about the reorganization and impressed with the level of thought put into it.

### VII. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Joseph Craan shared remarks regarding his concerns with COMPASS and course placement. He reported on summer research opportunities for students, ongoing communication with the Office of Academic Affairs, faculty participation in curriculum development and recent bookstore issues.

### VIII. <u>REVIEW OF AGENDA ITEMS</u>

Chair Wolff asked the Vice Chancellors for an oral review of the Board agenda items, beginning with 1.00 and ending with 6.00. These motions had previously been reviewed in detail at a "chair briefing".

### IX. ANNUAL ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS

In accordance with Section 1.4.2 of the Board Bylaws the Board conducted an annual election for Board offices of Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Secretary. Trustee Lawson nominated the following individuals:

Paula Wolff – Chairperson Ellen Alberding – Vice-Chairperson Larry Rogers – Secretary

With no other nominations from the floor, Trustee Rand seconded this motion.

Trustee Lawson entertained a motion to approve Resolution 1.03 to Elect Officers of the Board of Trustees.

<Motion> Trustee Everett Rand <Second> Trustee Clarisol Duque Motion Carried

# X. <u>APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEMS, COMMITTEE MINUTES, AND REGULAR BOARD</u> <u>MINUTES</u>

Chair Wolff entertained a motion to approve the October 2, 2014 Board packet, the August 20, 2014 Academic Affairs Committee Minutes and the September 4, 2014 Regular Board meeting minutes by a roll call vote.

<Motion> Vice Chair Ellen Alberding <Second> Trustee Everett Rand Motion Carried

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Chair Paula Wolff	Aye
Vice Chair Ellen Alberding	Aye
Secretary Larry Rogers	Aye
Trustee Clarisol Duque	Aye
Trustee Darrell Griffin	Aye
Trustee Marisela Lawson	Aye
Trustee Everett Rand	Aye

There were seven ayes and zero nays.

At the November 10, 2014 regular Board meeting, the Board moved to amend the roll call vote to include

an abstention from Trustee Clarisol Duque regarding the Personnel appointments of Sandra Abraveya and Emily LaForge.

### XI. <u>CLOSED SESSION</u>

Pursuant to the Open Meetings Act 2(c)2 and 2(c)11 Chair Wolff called for a motion to hold Closed Session at 10:28 a.m. for the discussion of collective bargaining and litigation matters.

<Motion>Trustee Clarisol Duque <Second>Trustee Everett Rand Motion Carried

### XII. <u>RETURN FROM CLOSED SESSION</u>

Closed Session ended at 10:51 a.m. There was no action taken during closed session.

### XIII. MOTION TO ADJOURN

Chair Wolff asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

<Motion>Trustee Marisela Lawson <Second>Trustee Everett Rand

Meeting adjourned at 10:51 a.m.

Larry R. Rogers, Sr. Secretary, Board of Trustees

Submitted by - Candace M. Montgomery, Assistant Board Secretary