#### 32147

APPROVED - BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 JANUARY 9, 2014

#### BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

#### **MINUTES**

## REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY DECEMBER 12, 2013 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD, ROOM 300

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on December 12, 2013 at 9:00 a.m., District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, Illinois 60606.

#### **ATTENDEES**

#### **TRUSTEES**

Ellen Alberding, Vice Chair Larry R. Rogers, Sr., Secretary Clarisol Duque Darrell Griffin Marisela Lawson Everett Rand Timakia Hobbs, Student Trustee

#### ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Candace Montgomery

#### CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Leah Heinecke-Krumhus

#### **CHANCELLOR**

Cheryl L. Hyman

#### **GENERAL COUNSEL**

Eugene Munin

#### PROVOST/

#### **CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER**

Vernese Edghill-Walden

#### **INSPECTOR GENERAL**

John Gasiorowski

#### OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Craig Lynch - Chief of Staff/Enterprise Services/Information Technology
Laurent Pernot – Executive Vice Chancellor/Institutional Advancement
Melanie Shaker - Vice Chancellor, Finance/Chief Financial Officer
Diane Minor - Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services/Procurement
Stephanie Tomino - Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Joyce Carson - Vice Chancellor, Business Enterprise
Rasmus Lynnerup - Vice Chancellor, Strategy, Research and
Organizational Effectiveness
Thomas Wheeler - Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security

#### **COLLEGE PRESIDENTS**

President Jose Aybar, Daley College President Donald Laackman, Harold Washington College Interim President Arshele Stevens, Kennedy-King College President Anthony Munroe, Malcolm X College President Craig Follins, Olive-Harvey College President Reagan Romali, Truman College President David Potash, Wright College

#### **FACULTY COUNCIL PRESIDENT**

Christine Aguila – Truman College

#### **OTHER ATTENDEES**

Leona Ketterl **BLDD** Architects Sarah Lowry **BLDD** Architects Roberto Concepcion **CCC** - District Office Kai Davis CCC - District Office J.R. Dempsey **CCC** - District Office Sharod Gordon **CCC** - District Office Antonio Gutierrez **CCC** - District Office Scott Martyn CCC - District Office Charles McCleanon **CCC** - District Office Latonya Orange **CCC** - District Office Ralph Passarelli **CCC** - District Office **David Sanders CCC** - District Office Krystal Stokes **CCC** - District Office Mia Hardy CCC - Olive-Harvey R. Howard CCC - Olive-Harvey Joann Washington CCC - Olive-Harvey

Floyd Bednarz CCCLOC Arthur Glenn CMO

Subuk Hasnain Daily Whale Ed Choklek FGM Architects

Jim McClean Jacobs
Audrey Butler Local 1708
Delores Withers Local 1708
Renauld Mitchell Mood Nolan

William Scott Tillman Maritime Academy Mark Stevenson Tillman Maritime Academy

Tammi Davis Trinal Inc.

## I. CALL TO ORDER REGULAR BOARD MEETING

Vice Chair Alberding called to order the December 12, 2013 regular Board Meeting at 9:03 a.m.

## II. ROLL CALL

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Chair Paula Wolff Absent
Vice Chair Ellen Alberding Present

Trustee Larry Rogers, Sr., Secretary	Present
Clarisol Duque	Present
Darrell Griffin	Present
Trustee Marisela Lawson	Present
Trustee Everett Rand	Present
Student Trustee, Timakia Hobbs	Present

Vice Chair Alberding acknowledged that in accordance with the Illinois Public Community College Act and the Illinois Open Meetings Act, there was a quorum.

#### III. REMARKS FROM THE VICE CHAIR

Vice Chair Alberding introduced the new trustees; Clarisol Duque and Reverend Darrell Griffin.

#### IV. PUBLIC PARTICIATION

There were four public participants.

- 1. Maria Estrada DeJesus addressed the Board regarding labor issues.
- 2. Mark Stevenson addressed the Board regarding the Olive-Harvey College TDL Center.
- 3. William Scott addressed the Board regarding workforce development at CCC.
- 4. Floyd Bednarz addressed the Board regarding the effectiveness of adjunct faculty.

#### V. CHANCELLOR'S UPDATES

Chancellor Hyman announced the date of the 2014 Commencement Ceremony, which will be Saturday, May 3, 2014 at the UIC Pavilion. She provided an update on the time and attendance system and the Malcolm X capital project.

## VI. <u>DISTRICT UPDATES</u>

1. President Jose Aybar provided an update on Daley College. The presentation can be found here.

Vice Chair Alberding clarified information regarding IPEDS data compared to the actual rate of completion for CCC graduates. She also commented that Daley College is on the leading edge of what employers in the manufacturing industry are looking for; specifically higher level math, science and computer skills.

2. VC Diane Minor and AVC Sharod Gordon provided an update on Malcolm X College Community Hiring. The presentation can be found <a href="here">here</a>.

Trustee Rand asked the presenters to provide more information on the Architect of Record for the benefit of the new trustees.

3. CFO Melanie Shaker, IG John Gasiorowski and Internal Audit Director Roberto Concepcion provided an Audit Report. The presentation can be found <a href="here">here</a>.

#### VII. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Christine Aguila presented the December Faculty Council Report. The presentation can be found <u>here</u>.

#### VIII. REVIEW OF AGENDA ITEMS

Vice Chair Alberding asked the Vice Chancellors for an oral review of the December 12, 2013 Board agenda items, beginning with 1.00 and ending with 6.00. These motions had previously been reviewed in detail at a "chair briefing".

# IX. <u>APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEMS, COMMITTEE MINUTES, AND REGULAR BOARD MINUTES</u>

Vice Chair Alberding entertained a motion to approve the December 12, 2013 Board packet, the November 5, 2013 Committee on Academic Affairs and Student Services minutes and the November 7, 2013 regular Board meeting minutes by a roll call vote.

<Motion> Everett Rand

<Second> Larry R. Rogers, Sr. Motion Carried

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Vice Chair Ellen Alberding Aye

Clarisol Duque Aye (Abstaining from November 5<sup>th</sup> and November 7<sup>th</sup> minutes)

Darrell Griffin Aye
Trustee Marisela Lawson Aye
Trustee Everett Rand Aye
Trustee Larry Rogers, Sr. Aye
Chair Paula Wolff Aye

Vice Chair Alberding reported six ayes, zero nays and one abstention.

## X. <u>CLOSED SESSION</u>

Pursuant to the Open Meetings Act 2(c)11 the Vice Chair called for a motion to hold Closed Session at 10:52 a.m. for the discussion of litigation matters.

<Motion> Trustee Everett Rand

<Second> Trustee Larry Rogers, Sr. Motion Carried

## XI. RETURN FROM CLOSED SESSION

Closed Session ended at 11:05 a.m. There was no action taken during closed session.

## XII. MOTION TO ADJOURN

Vice Chair Alberding asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

<Motion>Everett Rand

<Second>Larry Rogers, Sr.

Meeting adjourned at 11:06 a.m.

Larry R. Rogers, Sr. Secretary, Board of Trustees

Submitted by - Candace M. Montgomery, Assistant Board Secretary