32483

APPROVED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRCT NO. 508 DECEMBER 11, 2014

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING MONDAY, NOVEMBER 10, 2014 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD, ROOM 300

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on November 10, 2014 at 9:00 a.m., District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, Illinois 60606.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Ellen Alberding, Vice Chair Clarisol Duque Darrell Griffin Marisela Lawson Everett Rand Jacques Sarr, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Candace Montgomery

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Leah Heinecke-Krumhus

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

Eugene Munin

CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER

Vernese Edghill-Walden

INSPECTOR GENERAL

John Gasiorowski

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Jim Frankenbach – Chief Operating Officer
Craig Lynch – Chief of Staff/Enterprise Services
Rasmus Lynnerup – Vice Chancellor, Strategy, Research and
Organizational Effectiveness
Jerrold Martin – Vice Chancellor, Information Technology
Diane Minor – Vice Chancellor, Administrative and Procurement Services
Beatrice O'Donnell – Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security
Stephanie Tomino – Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Carole Wood – Vice Chancellor, Institutional Advancement

Joyce Carson – Vice Chancellor, Finance/Business Enterprise

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College Interim President, Margaret Martyn, Harold Washington College President Arshele Stevens, Kennedy-King College President Anthony Munroe, Malcolm X College President Angelia Millender, Olive-Harvey College President Reagan Romali, Truman College President David Potash, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Joseph Craan – Olive-Harvey College

OTHER ATTENDEES:

CCC-District Office J.R. Dempsey Sharod Gordon **CCC-District Office** Katheryn Hayes **CCC-District Office** Philip Jackson **CCC-District Office** Scott Martyn **CCC-District Office** Ralph Passarelli **CCC-District Office** Steve Saba **CCC-District Office** Arlene Strong **CCC-District Office** Mark Patoska Civic Federation

Andre Kirby CMO Bill Silver IEA

Kai Love Davis CCC-District Office

I. <u>CALL TO ORDER REGULAR BOARD MEETING</u>

Vice Chair Alberding called to order the November 10, 2014 regular Board Meeting at 9:02 a.m.

II. ROLL CALL

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Chair Paula Wolff Absent Vice Chair Ellen Alberding Present Secretary Larry Rogers, Sr. Absent Trustee Clarisol Duque Present Trustee Darrell Griffin Present Trustee Marisela Lawson Present Trustee Everett Rand Present Student Trustee Jacques Sarr Present

Vice Chair Alberding acknowledged that in accordance with the Illinois Public Community College Act and the Illinois Open Meetings Act, there was a quorum.

III. PUBLIC PARTICIATION

There was one public participant.

• Patricia Davis expressed concerned about M/WBE representation on the Malcolm X capital project.

IV. CHANCELLOR'S UPDATES

Chancellor Hyman provided an update on recent and upcoming townhall meetings across the district. She discussed faculty and student concerns regarding Gradesfirst and the online bookstore.

V. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Joseph Craan reported improvements with the online bookstore, concerns with moving the Child Development program and his beliefs on how change occurs throughout the District and its impact on students.

VI. REVIEW OF AGENDA ITEMS

Vice Chair Alberding asked the Vice Chancellors for an oral review of the Board agenda items, beginning with 1.00 and ending with 6.00. These motions had previously been reviewed in detail at a "chair briefing".

VII. APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEMS, COMMITTEE MINUTES, AND REGULAR BOARD MINUTES

Vice Chair Alberding entertained a motion to approve the November 10, 2014 Board packet, the September 24, 2014 Ad Hoc Construction Committee Minutes and the October 2, 2014 Regular Board meeting minutes by a roll call vote.

<Motion> Trustee Everett Rand

<Second> Trustee Marisela Lawson Motion Carried

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Vice Chair Ellen Alberding

Trustee Clarisol Duque

Aye
Trustee Darrell Griffin

Aye
Trustee Marisela Lawson

Aye
Trustee Everett Rand

Aye

There were five ayes and zero nays.

VIII. <u>CLOSED SESSION</u>

Pursuant to the Open Meetings Act 2(c)1 and 2(c)11 Vice Chair Alberding called for a motion to hold Closed Session at 9:49 a.m. for the discussion of personnel and litigation matters.

<Motion>Trustee Clarisol Duque

<Second>Trustee Everett Rand Motion Carried

IX. RETURN FROM CLOSED SESSION

Closed Session ended at 10:19 a.m. There was no action taken during closed session.

X. MOTION TO ADJOURN

Vice Chair Alberding asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

<Motion>Trustee Marisela Lawson

<Second>Trustee Everett Rand

Meeting adjourned at 10:19 a.m.

Larry R. Rogers, Sr. Secretary, Board of Trustees

Submitted by – Candace M. Montgomery, Assistant Board Secretary