32106

APPROVED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 DECEMBER 12, 2013

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY NOVEMBER 7, 2013 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD, ROOM 300

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on November 7, 2013 at 9:00 a.m., District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, Illinois 60606.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Paula Wolff, Chair Larry R. Rogers, Sr., Secretary Marisela Lawson Everett Rand Timakia Hobbs, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Candace Montgomery

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Leah Heinecke-Krumhus

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

Eugene Munin

PROVOST/

CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER

Vernese Edghill-Walden

INSPECTOR GENERAL

John Gasiorowski

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Jim Frankenbach - Chief Operating Officer
Craig Lynch - Chief of Staff/Enterprise Services/Information Technology
Laurent Pernot — Executive Vice Chancellor/Institutional Advancement
Melanie Shaker - Vice Chancellor, Finance/Chief Financial Officer
Diane Minor - Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services/Procurement
Stephanie Tomino - Vice Chancellor, Human Resources
Joyce Carson - Vice Chancellor, Business Enterprise
Rasmus Lynnerup - Vice Chancellor, Strategy, Research and
Organizational Effectiveness
Thomas Wheeler - Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College
President Donald Laackman, Harold Washington College
Interim President Arshele Stevens, Kennedy-King College
President Anthony Munroe, Malcolm X College
President Craig Follins, Olive-Harvey College
President Reagan Romali, Truman College
President David Potash, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL PRESIDENT

Christine Aguila – Truman College

OTHER ATTENDEES

BLDD Architects Sarah Lowry Kai Love Davis CCC - District Office J. R. Dempsey **CCC** - District Office **Sharod Gordon** CCC - District Office Katheryn Hayes CCC - District Office Briane LaBelle CCC - District Office Scott Martyn CCC - District Office Charles McCleanon **CCC** - District Office Ralph Passarelli CCC - District Office **David Sanders** CCC - District Office Shawn Burnett Whitaker CCC - District Office Recep Dereli CCC - Wright College Wendy Musto CCC - Wright College

Floyd Bednarz CCCLOC

Brandon Calvert Charity & Associates
Javid Aboutorabi Clark Construction

Arthur Glenn CMO
Sue Morris ICCB
Mike Monaghan ICCTA
Audrey Butler Local 1708
Delores Withers Local 1708
Shonty Mills Pagoda Electric

Laura Spingola Trade Resources LTD.

W. Gorksi

I. <u>CALL TO ORDER REGULAR BOARD MEETING</u>

Chair Wolff called to order the November 7, 2013 regular Board Meeting at 9:01 a.m.

II. ROLL CALL

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Chair Paula Wolff Present
Vice Chair Ellen Alberding Absent
Trustee Larry Rogers, Sr., Secretary Present
Trustee Marisela Lawson Present
Trustee Everett Rand Present

Student Trustee, Timakia Hobbs Present

Chair Wolff acknowledged that in accordance with the Illinois Public Community College Act and the Illinois Open Meetings Act, there was a quorum.

III. REMARKS FROM THE CHAIR

Chair Wolff discussed changes to the Board noting the resignations of Trustee Santiago and Trustee Jenkins and the appointments of Clarisol Duque and Darrell Griffin. Chair Wolff also thanked President Laackman for the opportunity to meet with the faculty, staff and students of Harold Washington College. She also made note of recent meetings with Mayor Emanuel regarding College to Careers programming.

Trustee Lawson reported on the September 25, 2013 Committee on Finance and Administrative Services and the November 5, 2013 Committee on Academic Affairs and Student Services.

IV. PUBLIC PARTICIATION

There were two public participants.

Michael Monaghan, Executive Director of the Illinois Community College Trustees Association (ICCTA) addressed the Board regarding the role of the ICCTA in higher education and its involvement with the City Colleges of Chicago.

Wendy Musto, Party-Time Lecturer/Wright College addressed the Board regarding the progress of the English Department's part-time lecturers as well as salary concerns.

V. CHANCELLOR'S UPDATES

Chancellor Hyman discussed the progress of capital projects and the associated bond sale, Reinvention7 and ongoing efforts to better support students

VI. <u>DISTRICT UPDATES</u>

The Office of Strategy and Institutional Intelligence provided an update on Reinvention⁷. The presentation can be found <u>here</u>.

The Office Institutional Advancement provided and update on development and the alumni association. The presentation can be found here.

President Potash provided an update on Wright College. The presentation can be found here.

VII. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Christine Aguila presented the November Faculty Council Report. The presentation can be found <u>here</u>.

VIII. REVIEW OF AGENDA ITEMS

Chair Wolff asked the Vice Chancellors for an oral review of the November 7, 2013 Board agenda items, beginning with 1.00 and ending with 6.00. These motions had previously been reviewed in detail at a "chair briefing".

IX. <u>APPROVAL OF AGENDA ITEMS, COMMITTEE MINUTES, AND REGULAR BOARD MINUTES</u>

Chair Wolff entertained a motion to approve the November 7, 2013 Board packet and the September 25, 2013 Committee on Finance and Administrative Services minutes by a roll call vote.

<Motion> Everett Rand

<Second> Larry R. Rogers, Sr. Motion Carried

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll:

Trustee Marisela Lawson Aye
Trustee Everett Rand Aye
Trustee Larry Rogers, Sr. Aye
Chair Paula Wolff Aye

Chair Wolff reported four ayes and zero nays on the roll call vote.

X. CLOSED SESSION

Pursuant to the Open Meetings Act, 2(c)1, 2(c)11 and 2(c)21 Chair Wolff called for a motion to hold Closed Session at 11:11 a.m. for the discussion of Personnel, Litigation and Closed Session matters.

<Motion> Trustee Everett Rand

<Second> Trustee Marisela Lawson Motion Carried

XI. RETURN FROM CLOSED SESSION

Closed Session ended at 11:45 a.m. There was no action taken during closed session.

XII. MOTION TO ADJOURN

Chair Wolff asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

<Motion>Larry Rogers, Sr.

<Second>Everett Rand

Meeting adjourned at 11:46 a.m.

Larry R. Rogers, Sr. Secretary, Board of Trustees

Submitted by – Candace M. Montgomery, Assistant Board Secretary