31271

APPROVED - BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 JANUARY, 12, 2012

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY – DECEMBER 1, 2011 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD, ROOM 300

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on Thursday, December 1, 2011 at 10:00 a.m., District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Martin Cabrera, Jr., Chairperson
Ellen Alberding, Vice Chairperson (Absent)
Larry R. Rogers, Sr., Secretary
Marisela Lawson
Paula Wolff (Absent)
Everett Rand
Pastor Charles Jenkins (Absent)
Ashley N. Turner, Student Trustee

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Jaime Guzman

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Regina M. Hawkins

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

PROVOST/CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER

Kojo Quartey

GENERAL COUNSEL

James Reilly

TREASURER

Dolores Javier

INSPECTOR GENERAL

John Gasiorowski

OTHER ATTENDEES

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Kenneth Gotsch, Chief Finance Officer, Finance Craig Lynch, Vice Chancellor Information Technology Diane Minor, Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services/ Procurement

Michael Daigler, Vice Chancellor Development Patricia Rios, Vice Chancellor Human Resources Alvin Bisarya, Vice Chancellor, Strategy and Institutional Intelligence

Joyce Carson, Vice Chancellor, Business Enterprise Jim Frankenbach, Chief Operating Officer Joseph DeLopez, Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College
President, Donald Laackman, Harold Washington College
President Joyce Ester, Kennedy-King College
President Anthony Munroe, Malcolm X College
President Jim Palos, Wright College
President Reagan Romali, Truman College
President Craig Follins, Olive-Harvey College

FACULTY COUNCIL

Polly Hoover - Faculty Council President, Wright College

NAME	DEPARTMENT/COMPANY/OTHER
Shawn Burnett-Whitaker	Office of the General Counsel
Helen Henry	Board of Trustees
Rebecca Ford	Office of the General Counsel
Delores Withers	Local 1708
Audrey Butler	Local 1708
Roy Garcia	Department of Security District Office
LaTonya Orange	OIT
Ed Garza	Student Affairs
Laurent Pernot	Marketing
Mike Davis	Academic Affairs
Ralph Passarelli	Office of Risk Management
Rochelle Robinson-Dukes	Local 1600
Kevin Williams	OIT
Alicia Rankin	Reinvention
Tawa Jogunosimi	Reinvention
Katheryn Hayes	Marketing
Janice Meija	OSII
Scott Martyn	OSII
Preston Harden	AVC
Sharod Gordon	Community Affairs
John Gasiorowski	OIG
Angel Quionones	Internal Auditor
Antonio Gutierrez	Staff
Cecilia Lopez	AVC
Krys Stokes	Staff
Jesus Iniguez	Staff
Rochell Robinson Dukes	CCTU
Marva Hall	District Office
Leona Lecher	BLDD Architects
Tim Morath	BLDD Architects
Kim Sangster	DIDD Memeers
Malachi Gibson	SGA
Len Etlinger	District Office
Arshelle Stevens	District Office
Cynthia Armster	KKC
•	Finance
J.R. Dempsey	
Karen Lehef	Workforce Software
Derrick Harden	Internal Audit

I. REGULAR BOARD MEETING

Chairman Martin Cabrera, Jr., called the meeting to order at 10:03 A.M.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairman Martin Cabrera, Jr. asked that everyone stand for the pledge of allegiance.

III. ROLL CALL

The Assistant Board Secretary called roll and Chairman Cabrera established that in accordance with the Illinois Public Community College Act and the Illinois Open Meetings Act, there was a quorum. The Student Trustee was also included in the roll call.

IV. WELCOME OF NEW PRESIDENT – KENNEDY KING COLLEGE

Chairman welcomed new President, Dr. Joyce Ester Student Trustee, Ashley Turner also gave welcome remarks

V. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Polly Hoover, Faculty Council President, from Wright College presented the Faculty Council Report. The written report will be submitted to the Board Office and placed on the City Colleges of Chicago website.

VI. CHANCELLOR'S UPDATE

Chancellor Cheryl L. Hyman briefed the Trustees on recent District developments. Chancellor also welcomed Dr. Joyce Ester and thanked Interim President – Derrick Harden for his hard work, dedication and loyalty not only to Kennedy-King College, but to the District as well. Mr. Harden will resume his prior duties as Executive Director – Internal Audit, District Office.

VII. <u>CLOSED SESSION</u>

Pursuant to the Open Meetings Act, (sections 2c1, 2c2, 2c5, 2c11 and 2c12), the Chairman called for a motion to hold closed session at 10:25 a.m. for discussion of Personnel, Collective Bargaining, Real Estate and Litigation.

There was no action taken during closed session and the meeting reconvened at 11:03 a.m.

VIII. ORAL REVIEW OF THE DECEMBER BOARD REPORTS

Chairman Martin Cabrera, Jr., asked for an oral review of the December Board Reports with the Officers of the District, beginning with Resolution 1.0 and ending with Board Report 7.06. Resolution 1.03 was withdrawn.

IX. APPROVAL OF BOARD REPORTS AND MINUTES

Chairman Martin Cabrera, Jr., called for a motion to approve the November 3, 2011 Board minutes and the December 1, 2011 Board packet.

X. <u>SCIENCE DEMONSTRATION</u>

Associate Vice Chancellor - STEM, Mike Davis, presented to the Board a brief science demonstration, as well as a power point presentation on the CPS Science Fair.

XI. ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Martin Cabrera, Jr. asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:55 a.m.

LARRY R. ROGERS, SR. SECRETARY, BOARD OF TRUSTEES

SUBMITTED - ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY, REGINA M. HAWKINS