

APPROVED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 AUGUST 4, 2011

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 COUNTY OF COOK AND STATE OF ILLINOIS

MINUTES

PUBLIC HEARING REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY – JULY 14, 2011 DISTRICT OFFICE - 226 W. JACKSON BOULEVARD

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508 was held on Thursday, July 14, 2011 at 9:00 a.m., at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606. The public hearing was called to order at 9:05 a.m. and adjourned at 9:15 a.m. The regular Board meeting was called to order at 9:16 a.m.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Martin Cabrera, Jr., Chairperson Ellen Alberding, Vice Chairperson Larry R. Rogers, Sr., Secretary Marisela Lawson Paula Wolff (Absent) Everett Rand Pastor Charles Jenkins Ashley N. Turner, Student Trustee

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Jaime Guzman

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Regina M. Hawkins

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

CHIEF OF STAFF

Ronny Anderson

GENERAL COUNSEL

James Reilly

TREASURER

Dolores Javier

INSPECTOR GENERAL

John Gasiorowski

OTHER ATTENDEES

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Kenneth Gotsch, Chief Finance Officer, Finance Craig Lynch, Vice Chancellor Information Technology Diane Minor, Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services/ Procurement

Michael Daigler, Vice Chancellor Development
Patricia Rios, Vice Chancellor Human Resources
Alvin Bisarya, Vice Chancellor, Strategy and Institutional
Intelligence

Michael Mutz, Vice Chancellor, Client Services and Student Engagement

Joyce Carson, Vice Chancellor, Business Enterprise Jim Frankenbach, Chief Operating Officer Joseph DeLopez, Vice Chancellor, Safety and Security

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College President, Donald Laackman, Harold Washington College President Anthony Munroe, Malcolm X College President Jim Palos, Wright College Interim President, Derrick Harden, Kennedy-King College

FACULTY COUNCIL

Suzanne Sanders-Betzold in the absence of Polly Hoover – Faculty Council President, Wright College

NAME

Shawn Burnett-Whitaker

Helen Henry Jennifer Seldon Rebecca Ford

Suzanne Sanders-Betzold

Delores Withers Audrey Butler Laurence Msall M.B. Nick Mariah Smith

Ed Choklek Chieko High Alicia Rankin Michelle Chalker

Angela Burgos Tequilla Williams Scott Christian Wells

Joshua Isom
Chiaka Patterson
Cecila Lopez
Cynthia Armster
Pastor Jermaine Ford
Oredyu Adedokun
Chris Moore

Ellen Eason-Montgomery

Ramona A

Ericka Hill

Lizzette Richardson David St. John

Dolores Javier Roy Coaccin LaTonya Orange John Gasiorowski Antonio Guiterrez Jasmine Martin

J.R. Dempsey
Margaret Luther

Scott Martyn

Candace Montgomery Rosalind Henderson Mustafa

Ray Sanders Michael Scoypa Greg King Seeme Maali Ralph G. Passarelli Vernese Walden **DEPARTMENT/COMPANY/OTHER**

Office of the General Counsel

Board of Trustees Board of Trustees

Office of the General Counsel FCCCC Representative

Local 1708 Local 1708 Civic Federation

Student, Wright College

Student, Harold Washington College

FGM Architects Community Relations

Reinvention Finance

Student, Harold Washington College Student, Harold Washington College Student, Harold Washington College

Administrative Services Academic Affairs Academic Affairs

New Life

Student, Harold Washington College Student, Harold Washington College Student, Harold Washington College Faculty, Harold Washington College

Harold Washington College

Academic Affairs

Faculty, Malcolm X College

Finance CCC Staff OIT OIG

Academic Affairs

Student, Harold Washington College

Finance
Student
Staff
Staff
Staff
Finance
Public
Marketing
Civic Federation
Risk Management

Staff

Audrey Butler J. Lucy Mancilla Tawa Jogunosimi Rebecca McAlpine Local 1708
Marketing
Office of Strategy and Institutional Intelligence
Civic Federation

I. PUBLIC HEARING

Chairman Martin Cabrera, Jr. convened the public hearing on the City Colleges Annual Budget for fiscal year ending June 30, 2012 at 9:05 a.m.

- (a) The Chairman informed the Board that in accordance with state law, the official public notice to hold the public hearing was published in the Chicago Sun Times, Extra and the Chicago Defender.
- (b) Presentation of the FY 2012 Budget Kenneth Gotsch
- (c) Laurence Msall, President of the Civic Federation, addressed the Board with comments regarding The City Colleges Budget (hard copies were sent to Board members via email)
- (d) Public Hearing adjourned at 9:15 a.m.

I. REGULAR BOARD MEETING

Chairman Cabrera called the meeting to order at 9:16 a.m. The Chairman, on behalf of all Trustees offered condolences to Chancellor Cheryl L. Hyman on the passing of her grandmother.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairman asked that everyone stand for the pledge of allegiance.

III. ROLL CALL

Assistant Board Secretary, Regina Hawkins called roll and the Chairman established that there was a quorum.

IV. WELCOME OF TWO NEW PRESIDENTS

Chairman welcomed two new Presidents, Dr. Anthony Munroe – Malcolm X College and Mr. Jim Palos, Wright College. Both Presidents made a few remarks.

V. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

In the absence of Professor Polly Hoover, Professor Suzanne Sanders-Betzold presented the Faculty Council Report. It was noted that the report would also be submitted in writing and placed on file.

VI. CHANCELLOR'S UPDATE

Chancellor Cheryl L. Hyman briefed the Trustees on recent District updates.

VII. NO CLOSED SESSION

VIII. ORAL REVIEW OF JULY BOARD REPORTS

Chairman Cabrera asked for an oral review of the July Board reports with the Officers of the District. Chairman abstained from voting on Board Report 4.03, an agreement with U.S. Bank to provide electronic payment card services to the District, due to his previous role as a member of a U.S. Bank advisory board.

IX. REINVENTION UPDATE

Vice Chancellor Alvin Bisarya provided the Board with an update on Reinvention.

X. <u>COMMITTEE REPORTS</u>

Chairman dispensed with the oral committee reports, but written reports would be included in the public record of this meeting and informed the audience that the Board will be looking at ways to improve future committee reports.

XI. APPROVAL OF BOARD REPORTS AND MINUTES

Chairman called for a motion to approve the June 16, 2011 Board minutes and the July 14, 2011 Board packet.

XII. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Chairman asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:10 a.m.

LARRY R. ROGERS, SR. SECRETARY, BOARD OF TRUSTEES