30011

APPROVED - BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY **COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 FEBRUARY 11, 2010**



BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 **County of Cook and State of Illinois**

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY, JANUARY 7, 2010

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, scheduled on Thursday, January 7, 2010 at 9:00 a.m., was held at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606 was called to order at 9:38 a.m.

TRUSTEES

James C. Tyree, Chairman James A. Dyson, Vice Chairman (Absent) Terry E. Newman (Absent) Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III Nancy J. Clawson Gloria Castillo Ralph G. Moore Antony Chungath, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Regina M. Hawkins

INTERIM CHANCELLOR

Deidra J. Lewis

GENERAL COUNSEL

James Reilly

TREASURER

Dolores Javier

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Diane Minor, Associate Vice Chancellor

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Interim Vice Chancellor, Angela Henderson, Academic Affairs Kenneth Gotsch, CFO, Finance Kathy Linenberger, Interim Vice Chancellor Information Technology Michael Mutz, Vice Chancellor Office of Development Associate Vice Chancellor, Eugene Nichols for Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe, Vice Chancellor Human Resources

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College President John Wozniak, Harold Washington College Interim President John Dozier, Kennedy-King College President Ghingo Brooks, Malcolm X College President Clyde El-Amin, Olive-Harvey College Interim President Lynn Walker, Truman College President Charles Guengerich, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL

President Dr. Keith McCoy-Wright College

OTHER ATTENDEES

Ralph Passarelli
Juliuz Nadas
Emmanuel Sarris
Ellen Eason- Montgomery

Audrey Butler
Buvern Francisco
Derrick Harden
Eugenia Krzyzanski

Pamela Cannamore Joelle Isidore John Sterling **Nancy Dunn** Cecila Lopez **Cynthia Armster Simon Visser** Len Etlinger **Faith Korey Antonio Gutterrez** Jan Stepelo-Millett Valerie Highsmith **Jane Barnes Rosemary Jackson Danielle Kerry Delores Javier Dilnesaw Asnot** Sheila Johnson **Eugene Nichols Harriett Neeley** Melissa Readon Jim Gonsiorek **Charles Smith Cris Savre Kim Nishimito Edward Maziur Chris Wilkerson** Elsa Tullos **Andy Wroi Delores Withers Arthur Wood** Phoebe Wood

Chairman Tyree called the meeting to order at 9:38 a.m.

First Order of Business

Interim Chancellor Lewis presented her monthly update of activities for December 2009.

Second Order of Business

Chairman Tyree called for a motion at 9:45 a.m. to hold closed session pursuant to 2(c)(1) and 2(c)(2) and 2(c)(11) for discussion of personnel, collective bargaining and litigation: <u>motion so moved – Trustee Tyson, second Trustee Castillo.</u> There were no actions taken during closed session which ended at 10:36 a.m. The open meeting was reconvened at 10:37 a.m.

Assistant Board Secretary Regina Hawkins exited the meeting at 10:40 a.m.; Chairman Tyree asked General Counsel James Reilly to continue to take the minutes.

Third Order of Business

Chairman Tyree requested a review of the January board reports and amendment folder with Trustees and Vice Chancellors.

Fourth Order of Business

Interim Chancellor Lewis announced the appointment of John Dozier as President of Kennedy-King College.

MOTION FOR APPROVAL OF BOARD REPORTS 29937 to 30007 by Chairman Tyree motion so moved – Trustee Tyson, second – Trustee Moore , by a unanimous affirmative voice vote of the five voting members present and the Student Advisory vote were approved, with the exception of Item No. 4.05 - which was withdrawn - INTERGOVERNMENTAL LICENSE AGREEMENT WITH THE CHICAGO PARK DISTRICT TRUMAN COLLEGE.

Human Resources Minutes – 29937

Academic Affairs and Student Services Minutes – 29938

Finance, Office of Information Technology and Administrative Services Minutes – 29939

Board Minutes - 29940

Resolutions 29941 to 29953

Personnel 29954 to 29957

Resource Development – 29958 to 29959

Agreements – 29960 to 29964; 29966 to 29972 (29965 was withdrawn)

Business and Industry – 29973

Legal Invoices - 29974

Purchases - 29975 to 29976

Monthly Summaries and Expenditures - 29977 to 29980

College Information – 29981 to 30006

Faculty Council Update -30007

Fifth Order of Business

Chairman Tyree asked that the Vice Chancellors of Finance, Academic Affairs and Human Resources to present their Committee Reports. Associate Vice Chancellor Eugene Nichols, presented the report for Vice Chancellor Xiomara Cortes-Metcalf, Human Resources.

Sixth Order of Business

Presentation of Faculty Update – Dr. Keith McCoy, Wright College.

ADJOURNMENT

On <u>motion</u> by Chairman Tyree <u>motion so moved – Trustee Moore, second – Trustee Tyson</u> the January 7, 2010 regular board meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, County of Cook and State of Illinois, was adjourned at 11:31 a.m. by a unanimous affirmative voice vote of the five voting members present.

Trustee Terry E. Newman Board Secretary

Submitted by: Assistant Board Secretary, Regina M. Hawkins and General Counsel James Reilly