30542

APPROVED - BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 SEPTEMBER 8, 2010



BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY AUGUST 5, 2010

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, scheduled on Thursday, August 5, 2010 at 9:00 a.m., was held at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606 and called to order at 9:25 a.m.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Gery J. Chico, Chairman
James A. Dyson, Vice Chairman
Terry E. Newman, Secretary
Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III
Nancy J. Clawson
Gloria Castillo
Ralph G. Moore
Gwendolyn Fulgern, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Regina M. Hawkins

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

James Reilly

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Jaime Guzman (Absent)

TREASURER

Dolores Javier

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Diane Minor, Associate Vice Chancellor

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Angela Henderson, Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs Kenneth Gotsch, CFO, Office of Finance

Craig Lynch, Vice Chancellor Office of Information Technology

Michael Daigler, Vice Chancellor Office of Development

Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe, Vice Chancellor Office of Human Resources

Alvin Bisarya, Vice Chancellor, Strategy and Institutional Intelligence

Michael Mutz, Vice Chancellor, Client Services and Student Engagement

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College (Absent) President John Wozniak, Harold Washington College

President John Dozier, Kennedy-King College President Ghingo Brooks, Malcolm X College President Clyde El-Amin, Olive-Harvey College Interim President Lynn Walker, Truman College President Charles Guengerich, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL

Ellen Eason-Montgomery-President, Harold Washington College

OTHER ATTENDEES

Julius NadasJohn MeteyerDavid LevettLise ValentineGeneave NolanJoel Ebert

Tracy Yu Eugenia Krzyanski Mary Dyson **Dolores Javier** Cris Savre Arely Espinosa Nora Martinez Tenelle Barnes Lydia Gonzalez George Bickford Emmanuel Sarris Nancy Dunn Erika Miller Jim Gonsiorek Renee Cater Tom Kaelogeygial Simon Visser Venise Walden Yolanda Stoffegen Carol Bingergal Jane Barnes LaTonya Orange Jan Stepto Millet Keith McCov J. Lucy Maneilla Gina Goodson-Allen Cecila Lopez

Nicole Sanford Phyllis Ward Anthony Johnston

Deborah Tate A. Harris Shawn Burnett-Whitaker

Rebecca Ford

Melissa Reardon-Henry

Ralph Passarelli Helen Henry Jennifer Seldon

I. PUBLIC HEARING

Chairman, convened the Public Hearing at 9:10 a.m. on the annual budget for fiscal year ending June 30, 2011. Chairman also noted the three publications in accordance with state law that the public hearing was published.

CFO, Kenneth Gotsch gave an overview of the 2011 budget.

Chairman introduced Ms. Lies Valentine, Vice President and Research Director, Civic Federation, who asked to address the board.

Chairman adjourned the Public Hearing at 9:25 a.m.

AUGUST 5, 2010 – BOARD MEETING

Chairman, then asked the Assistant Board Secretary to call roll. A quorum was established.

Gery J. Chico called the meeting to order at 9:25 a.m. and asked that everyone stand to recite the pledge of allegiance.

III. SPECIAL PRESENTATION

Chairman presented Resolutions and plaques to two Trustees who submitted their resignations (Trustee, Vice Chairman James Dyson and Trustee Ralph Moore). President John Wozniak, Harold Washington College also submitted his resignation and was presented with a Resolution. There were several remarks from the Chairman, Trustees and the Chancellor. Presidents presented memorabilia from their colleges.

IV. CHANCELLOR UPDATE

Chairman asked Chancellor Cheryl L. Hyman to brief the board on recent district updates.

V. <u>CLOSED SESSION</u>

Chairman called for a motion to hold closed session pursuant to 2c1, 2c2, 2c5, 2c6 and 2c11 (personnel, collective bargaining, litigation and real estate matters).

VI MEETING RECONVENED

Chairman informed the board that there was no action taken in closed session.

VII. REVIEW OF BOARD REPORTS

Chairman reviewed the August board reports with the Officers of the District. Chairman also abstained from voting on item 4.00 (Job Order Contracting Agreements – Contract Extension – Option Renewal).

VIII. COMMITTEE REPORTS

Academic Affairs, Vice Chancellor Angela Henderson Resource Development, Vice Chancellor, Michael Daigler Human Resources, Vice Chancellor, Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe Finance, CFO, Kenneth Gotsch OIT, Vice Chancellor, Craig Lynch Administrative Services, Vice Chancellor, Diane Minor

ALL COMMITTEE REPORTS WERE RECEIVED AND PLACED ON FILE

IX. APPROVAL OF AUGUST 5, 2010 BOARD REPORTS

Chairman asked for a motion to approve the August 5, 2010 board packet. There was a unanimous vote of AYE – Opposed – NAY Motion was carried

X. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Ellen Eason-Montgomery, Harold Washington College.

XI. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting Adjourned at 11:19 a.m.

TRUSTEE TERRY E. NEWMAN BOARD SECRETARY

SUBMITTED BY ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY, REGINA M. HAWKINS