30608

APPROVED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 OCTOBER 7, 2010



BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2010

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, which was re-scheduled from Thursday, September 2, 2010 to Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 9:00 a.m., was held at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606 and called to order at 9:21 a.m.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Gery J. Chico, Chairman Terry E. Newman, Secretary Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III Nancy J. Clawson Gloria Castillo (Absent) Gwendolyn Fulgern, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Regina M. Hawkins

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

James Reilly

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD

Jaime Guzman

PROVOST AND CHIEF ACADEMIC OFICER

Angela Henderson

TREASURER

Dolores Javier

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Diane Minor, Vice Chancellor

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Kenneth Gotsch, CFO, Office of Finance
Craig Lynch, Vice Chancellor Office of Information
Technology
Michael Daigler, Vice Chancellor Office of
Development
Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe, Vice Chancellor Office of
Human Resources
Alvin Bisarya, Vice Chancellor, Strategy and
Institutional Intelligence

Michael Mutz, Vice Chancellor, Client Services and Student Engagement

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College (Absent)
Interim-President, John Metoyer, Harold
Washington College
President John Dozier, Kennedy-King College
President Ghingo Brooks, Malcolm X College
President Clyde El-Amin, Olive-Harvey College
Interim President Lynn Walker, Truman College

President Charles Guengerich, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL

Ellen Eason-Montgomery-President, Harold Washington College

OTHER ATTENDEES

Helen Henry Jacqulyn Thomas Leticia Davis Jennifer Seldon Jane Barnes Marquita Foreman Jason LaBrosse Joel Ebert Jay Septoski George Bickford Keith McCoy Barbara Otto E.J. Krzyzanski Dr. Ed Mazur George Otto Steve Manicone Sharon Bradberry David Moehring Cris Savre LaTonya Orange Kiyohiko Sato Tenelle Barnes Shigeru Yamamoto Mike Davis Bill Doc Walls Toshiyuki Iwasaki Jason Mennen Jazmine Coates Jim Mark Christopher Watts Summer Gudlere Cecila Lopez J.R. Dempsey Lizette Richardson Raymond Sanders James Frankenbrett Jim Gonsiorek Simon Visser Vernise Walden Jan Stepto Millett Adam Ballard Joe Massie Kim Miceli Cynthia Armster Shawn Burnett-Whitaker Ron Anderson Audrey Butler Jasmika Cook Rebecca Ford John Gasiorowski Len Etlinger Antonio Guiterrez Jaime Guzman Derrick Harden **Dolores Javier** Sheila Johnson Danielle Kerry **Eugene Nichols** Greg King Josephine Mancilla

Melissa Reardon-Henry

Ralph Passarelli William Birch

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Gery J. Chico called the meeting to order at 9:21 a.m. and asked that everyone stand to recite the pledge of allegiance.

Delores Withers

II. ROLL CALL

Assistant Board Secretary called roll and established that there was a quorum.

III. SPEAKERS TO ADDRESS THE BOARD

Chairman introduced our visitors from Japan who represented the SONY Institute of Higher Education.

Mr. Kiyohiko Sato Dean of Academic Affairs Shohoku College, Japan

Mr. Shigeru Yamamoto

Mr. Toshiyuki Iwasaki

The Chairman and the Chancellor also addressed the issues of the remediation program. They both wanted to make it clear that City Colleges were not closing the door to any students.

There were several requests to address the board:

Mr. Michael Birch - Team 15 United

Bill Doc Walls

Both addressed their concerns on the remediation process

Also, four speakers from the Advance Youth Leadership Power, who spoke on admission and remediation practices at City Colleges.

Jazmine Coates Candace Coleman Jacquelyn Thomas Christopher Watts

TRIO Program at Truman College was addressed by Mr. Jason Labrosse

IV. CHANCELLOR UPDATE

Chairman asked Chancellor Cheryl L. Hyman to brief the board on recent district updates.

V. CLOSED SESSION

Chairman called for a motion to hold closed session pursuant to 2c1, 2c2, 2c5, and 2c11 (personnel, collective bargaining, litigation and real estate matters).

VI. <u>MEETING RECONVENED</u>

Chairman informed the board that there was no action taken during closed session.

VII. REVIEW OF BOARD REPORTS

Chairman called for a review of the September board reports with the Officers of the District.

VIII. COMMITTEE REPORTS

Chairman proceeded to our next order of business, review of committee reports

Academic Affairs, Provost Angela Henderson Client Services/Student Engagement Resource Development, Vice Chancellor, Michael Daigler Human Resources, Vice Chancellor, Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe Finance, CFO, Kenneth Gotsch OIT, Vice Chancellor, Craig Lynch Administrative Services, Vice Chancellor, Diane Minor

ALL COMMITTEE REPORTS WERE RECEIVED AND PLACED ON FILE

IX. APPROVAL OF SEPTEMBER 8, 2010 BOARD REPORTS

Chairman asked for a motion to approve the September 8, 2010 board packet. There was a unanimous vote of 4 AYE – Opposed – NAY Motion was carried

X. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Ellen Eason–Montgomery, Harold Washington College report was not presented orally but a printed copy will be available on the CCC website.

XI. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting Adjourned at 12:18 a.m.

TRUSTEE TERRY E. NEWMAN BOARD SECRETARY

SUBMITTED BY ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY, REGINA M. HAWKINS