## 30341

## RECEIVED AND PLACED ON FILE – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 MAY 12, 2010

## BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

# Wright College hosts Chicago Public Schools Third Annual Science Olympiad March 27, 2010

#### THE CHANCELLOR

## **REPORTS**

that Wright College hosted the second annual Chicago Public School Science Olympiad. The Olympiad held in cooperation with the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the Illinois Science Olympiad, and the National Science Olympiad provides academic competition for the middle grades through high school in chemistry, biology, physics, and engineering. A total of 370 future scientists and engineers participated in the competition.

that participating in the middle school competition were: New Sullivan Elementary, O. A. Thorp Academy, Decatur Classical Elementary, Amelia Earhart Elementary, John C. Coonley Elementary, Oriole Park Elementary, Rachel Carson Elementary, Henry H Nash, Edward Coles, Frank Gillespie Tech, Scammon Elementary, and O'Keefe Elementary.

that participating in the high school competition were: Bowen Environmental Studies, Steinmetz Academic Center. Sullivan High School, Crane High School, Fenger Academy High School, Kelvyn Park High School, New Millenium School of Health, Lane Technical, Westinghouse and Community Links High School.

that in the high school division Lane Technical and Sullivan High Schools placed 1<sup>st</sup> through 2<sup>nd</sup> respectively. With Community Links and Kelvyn Park High Schools tying for third place In the middle school division Decatur, Thorpe, and Coonley placed 1<sup>st</sup> through 3<sup>rd</sup>, respectively. The first and second place finishers in each division will compete at the State Tournament held at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign in May.

that all participants received information on the educational and athletic opportunities available at Wright College and the City Colleges of Chicago. The event was coordinated by the Professors Alicia Anzaldo, Co-Chairs of the Biology Department and Professor Walter Pravica, Chair of the Physical Science Department along with the support of their Department Colleagues.

Respectfully submitted,

Cheryl L. Hyman Chancellor