APPROVED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 MAY 12, 2010



BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY, APRIL 15, 2010

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, scheduled on Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 9:00 a.m., was held at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606 was called to order at 9:17 a.m.

TRUSTEES

Gery J. Chico, Chairman
James A. Dyson, Vice Chairman
Terry E. Newman (Absent)
Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III
Nancy J. Clawson
Gloria Castillo
Ralph G. Moore (Absent)
Antony Chungath, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Regina M. Hawkins

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

James Reilly

TREASURER

Dolores Javier

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Diane Minor, Associate Vice Chancellor

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Vice Chancellor, Angela Henderson, Academic Affairs Kenneth Gotsch, CFO, Finance Kathy Linenberger, Interim Vice Chancellor Information Technology Michael Mutz, Vice Chancellor Office of Development Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe, Vice Chancellor Human Resources

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College
President John Wozniak, Harold Washington College
President John Dozier, Kennedy-King College
President Ghingo Brooks, Malcolm X College
President Clyde El-Amin, Olive-Harvey College
Interim President Lynn Walker, Truman College
President Charles Guengerich, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL

President Keith McCoy-Wright College

OTHER ATTENDEES

Buckley, Perry Butler, Audrey Cook, Jasmika Etlinger, Len Freeman, Mark Harden, Derrick Isidore, Joelle Javier, Dolores Johnson, Sheila Kerry, Danielle Mustari, Charles Neely, Harriet Nichols, Eugene Passarrelli, Ralph Reardon-Henry, Melissa Smith, Charles Withers, Delores Wood, Phoebe

Pikowski, Erin Han, Catherine Shelton, Andrew Fulgern, Gwendolyn Gray-Lewis, Alice Paul, Gitendra Thomas-Hall, Julienne Holmes, Brandon Owen, Mary Torralba, Ray Choklek, Ed Cartledge, Sheryl Randy, Barnette Barnes, Jane Hernandez, Lisa Gonsiorek, Jim Hunter, Jim Stepto-Millet, Jan Highsmith, Valerie

Bobek, Patricia Mark, Jim Visser, Simon Parks, Jan Castro, Ramon Dunn, Nancy Guerra, Jr., Lupe Rosa, Maria E. Sayre, Cris Appleton, Evelyn Sandoval, Susan Korey, Faith Jackson, Rosemary

Chairman Chico called the meeting to order at 9:17 a.m.

First Order of Business

Vice Chairman Dyson called the meeting to order at 9:17 a.m. and established that there was a quorum.

Second Order of Business

Vice Chairman Dyson called for a motion to approve Resolution 1.17 to elect Mr. Gery J. Chico as Chairman of the Board. Motion – Tyson, second – Castillo. Once motion was approved Vice Chairman Dyson welcomed the Chairman and turned the gavel over to him.

Third Order of Business

Chairman Gery J. Chico thanked Vice Chairman Dyson and the other Trustees. He gave a few remarks regarding his position as Chairman. The Chairman then requested that Chancellor Cheryl L. Hyman brief the board on District updates.

Fourth Order of Business

Chairman asked for a motion to hold closed session for discussion of personnel and litigation matters. There was no action taken during closed session.

Fifth Order of Business

Chairman Chico requested a review of the April board reports and amendment folder with Trustees and Vice Chancellors.

During the review of board reports, the Trustees agreed that the following reports should be withdrawn:

- 1.02 Amend the student policy manual regarding graduation grade point average 2009-2010 (deferred from March 4th Board Meeting)
- 4.01 Job order contract (JOC) projects district wide (deferred from March 4th board meeting)
- 4.13 IBM Corporation Cognos Software Maintenance Services Office of Information Technology District Office
- 7.00 Job order contract (JOC) projects district wide monthly summary (deferred from March 4th board meeting)
- 7.08 Gymnasium bleachers Daley College administrative services
- 7.13 Purchase of cosmetology 101 supply kits cosmetology department Truman College (deferred from March 4th board meeting)

The Chairman abstained from voting on the following reports and it was communicated to the secretary's office:

- 4.10 New entrance and parking a lot Olive-Harvey College Administrative Services District Office
- 4.17 AT&T telecommunication service agreement WYCC TV-20
- 6.01 Payment of Legal Invoices
- 7.01 Job order contract (JOC) projects district wide monthly summary

Sixth Order of Business

Mr. Perry Buckley, President, Local 1600 asked to address the Board. He wanted to give congratulatory remarks to the Chairman and the Chancellor and expressed how he was looking forward to working with them.

Seventh Order of Business

The student trustee requested to address the board with information on his trip to Washington, D.C. The 2010 Association of Community College Trustees National Legislative Summit Conference.

<u>MOTION FOR APPROVAL OF BOARD REPORTS 30087 to 30255</u> by Chairman Chico <u>motion so moved – Trustee Dyson, second – Trustee Tyson</u>, by a unanimous affirmative voice vote of the five voting members present and the Student Trustee vote were approved.

Human Resources Minutes – 30087; 30088

Academic Affairs and Student Services Minutes – 30089; 30090

Finance, Office of Information Technology and Administrative Services Minutes – 30091; 30092

Board Minutes – 30093; 30094

Resolutions – 30095 to 30112

Personnel – 30113 to 30116

Resource Development – 30117 to 30120

Agreements – 30121 to 30136

Business and Industry – (No Board Reports submitted this month)

Legal Invoices – 30137 to 30138

Purchases - 30139 to 30149

Monthly Summaries and Expenditures - 30150 to 30160

College Information – 30161 to 30253

Faculty Council Update - 30254 30255

Presentation of Faculty Update - Keith McCoy, Wright College

ADJOURNMENT

On <u>motion</u> by Chairman Chico <u>motion so moved – Trustee Tyson, second – Trustee Dyson</u> the April 15, 2010 regular board meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, County of Cook and State of Illinois, was adjourned at 12:20 p.m. by a unanimous affirmative voice vote of the five voting members present.

Trustee Terry E. Newman Board Secretary

Submitted by Assistant Board Secretary, Regina M. Hawkins