

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING WEDNESDAY, MAY 12, 2010

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, scheduled on Wednesday, May 12, 2010 at 9:00 a.m., was held at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606 and called to order at 9:04 a.m.

ATTENDEES

TRUSTEES

Gery J. Chico, Chairman
James A. Dyson, Vice Chairman
Terry E. Newman, Secretary
Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III (Absent)
Nancy J. Clawson
Gloria Castillo
Ralph G. Moore (Absent)
Gwendolyn Fulgern, Student Trustee

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Regina M. Hawkins

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

James Reilly

TREASURER

Dolores Javier

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Diane Minor, Associate Vice Chancellor

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Vice Chancellor, Angela Henderson, Academic Affairs Kenneth Gotsch, CFO, Finance Kathy Linenberger, Interim Vice Chancellor Information Technology Michael Mutz, Vice Chancellor Office of Development Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe, Vice Chancellor Human Resources

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College
President John Wozniak, Harold Washington College
President John Dozier, Kennedy-King College
President Ghingo Brooks, Malcolm X College
President Clyde El-Amin, Olive-Harvey College
Interim President Lynn Walker, Truman College
President Charles Guengerich, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL

Dr. Keith McCoy-President, Wright College

OTHER ATTENDEES

Edward Choklek	Lithrel Ghdar	Harriet Neely
Andres Durbak	Faith Korey	Eugene Nichols
John Ralyear	Jan Stepto-Millet	Charles Smith
Danny Nelson	Sheryl Cartledge	Elsa Tullos
Eugenia Krzyzanski	Lolita Parram	Delores Withers
Jim Hunter	Melissa Reardon-Henry	
Len Etlinger	Franco Pacini	
Ellen Eason-Montgomery	J. Pfeiffer	
Cynthia Armster	Avelyn Isada	
Ralph Passarelli	Karolina Brodowiz	
Irene Flores	Anna Mitera	
Jessica Wallace	Gregory Fitzsimmons	
Sudro Wallace	Cris Sayre	
Jane Barnes	Audrey Butler	
Simon Visser	Joelle Isidore	
Stephanie Roberts	Edward Mazur	
Jacqueline Wells	Jasmika Cook	
Thomas Keys IV	Rebecca Ford	
Ricardo Phillips	Derrick Harden	
Ann Czerwohnka	Dolores Javier	

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Gery J. Chico called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

II. ROLL CALL

Assistant Board Secretary called role: Present: Gary J. Chico, Chairman, Terry E. Newman, Secretary, James A. Dyson, Vice Chairman, Nancy J. Clawson, Gloria Castillo. The Chairman established that a quorum was present

CHANCELLOR'S REPORT

III. Chancellor, Cheryl L. Hyman, District updates

STUDENT TRUSTEE

IV. Introduction of new student trustee, Gwnedolyn Fulgern, from Daley College. Chairman asked Ms. Fulgern to give a brief introduction.

V. CLOSED SESSION

Chairman asked for a motion to hold closed session for matters dealing with personnel and litigation

VI. MEETING RECONVEND

One action taken regarding litigation

VII. REVIEW OF BOARD REPORTS

Chairman called for a review of the May board reports with the Vice Chancellors and the Trustees

VIII. COMMITTEE REPORTS

Presentation of Academic Affairs, Finance and Human Resources. All committee reports were received and placed on file.

IX. APPROVAL OF BOARD REPORTS

Motion for approval of the May 12th, 2010 board packet

The Chairman abstained from voting on the following report and it was communicated to the secretary's office: Payment of legal invoices – Item 6.00

X. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Dr. Keith McCoy, Wright College

XI. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting Adjourned at 11:01 a.m.

Trustee Terry E. Newman Board Secretary

Submitted by Assistant Board Secretary, Regina M. Hawkins