30479

ADOPTED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 July 14, 2010

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

Annual Commencement Exercises Chicago Public Schools WRIGHT COLLEGE

THE CHANCELLOR

REPORTS

that on Wednesday, June 9, 2010, Vaughn Occupational High School graduated 38 high school seniors at Wright College. Special awards were given to those graduates for highest GPA, Best Attendance, Service Learning, Outstanding Workers, and Special Olympics; and

that on Thursday, June 10, 2010, Taft High School graduated 477 seniors in the Wright College gym. Students and their families were welcomed by Mr. Theodore Piupiris, Local School Council Chair, and addressed by their Valedictorian, Paulina Janik, and Salutatorian, Juliette Pirpiris. Dr. Arthur Tarvardian, Principal, presented the diplomas. Twenty Taft graduates were named 2010 Illinois State Scholars; and

that Prosser Academy held its graduation on Friday, June 11, in the Wright College gym. More than 300 graduates and their families attended. Mr. Kenneth Hunter, Prosser's Principal, was the Master of Ceremonies, and the commencement speeches were offered by Prosser faculty member, Ms. Bongiorno, and class Valedictorian Edwin Abundis and Salutatorian Carmen Rodriguez. Six graduates earned Illinois State Scholars Awards, and more than one and a half million dollars in scholarship money was awarded to this year's graduates; and

that on Saturday, June 12, 2010, Kelvyn Park High School graduated 239 students in the Wright College gym. Class Vice President 2010 Elizabeth Medina was the Mistress of Ceremony, and Mr. Ray Suarez, 31st Ward Alderman, was the Guest Speaker. Kelvyn Park graduates received almost one and one-half million dollars in scholarship monies; and

that hosting Chicago Public School graduations at Wright College provides students and their families the opportunity to see the campus and consider the City Colleges as a viable option for their post-secondary education.

Respectfully submitted,

Cheryl L. Hyman Chancellor