30425 ADOPTED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 July 14, 2010



# BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

# **MINUTES**

#### REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY JUNE 3, 2010

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, scheduled on Thursday, June 3, 2010 at 9:00 a.m., was held at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606 and called to order at 9:08 a.m.

## **ATTENDEES**

#### TRUSTEES

Gery J. Chico, Chairman James A. Dyson, Vice Chairman (Absent) Terry E. Newman, Secretary Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III Nancy J. Clawson Gloria Castillo (Absent) Ralph G. Moore (Absent) Gwendolyn Fulgern, Student Trustee

#### **ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY**

Regina M. Hawkins

## CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

# GENERAL COUNSEL

James Reilly

#### **TREASURER** Dolores Javier

#### ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Diane Minor, Associate Vice Chancellor

#### **OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT**

Vice Chancellor, Angela Henderson, Academic Affairs Kenneth Gotsch, CFO, Finance Kathy Linenberger, Interim Vice Chancellor Information Technology Michael Mutz, Vice Chancellor Office of Development Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe, Vice Chancellor Human Resources

#### **COLLEGE PRESIDENTS**

President Jose Aybar, Daley College President John Wozniak, Harold Washington College President John Dozier, Kennedy-King College President Ghingo Brooks, Malcolm X College President Clyde El-Amin, Olive-Harvey College Interim President Lynn Walker, Truman College President Charles Guengerich, Wright College

#### FACULTY COUNCIL

Ellen Eason-Montgomery-President, Harold Washington College

#### **OTHER ATTENDEES**

Eugenia Krzyzanski	Cynthia Armster
Dr. Paul Causher	Jasmika Cook
Abdul-Rasheed Akbar	Rebecca Ford
Thomas Wrobel	Derrick Harden
Donald Hebron	Danielle Kerry
Jim Gonsiorek	Eugene Nichols
Beverly Morris	Charles Smith
Diana Madrzyk	
Faith Korey	
Ralph Passarelli	
Dolores Javier	
Cecila Lopez	
Jane Barnes	
Lisa Hernandez	
Simon Visser	
Antonio Guiterrez	
Audrey Butler	
Ampy Martinez	
Elsa Tullos	
Nancy Dunn	
•	

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Gery J. Chico called the meeting to order at 9:08 a.m.

II. ROLL CALL Chairman asked for a delay of roll call until Trustee Clawson's arrival

**CHANCELLOR'S REPORT** 

III. Chancellor, Cheryl L. Hyman, District updates

#### SPEAKER TO ADDRESS BOARD

- IV. Ms. Bradley Ann Keith addressed the board regarding "Increasing the Statistics of Successful Graduation from City Colleges of Chicago and Satellite locations.
- V. Chairman and Chancellor acknowledged the 2009-10 Retirees. The Retirees were presented with certificates acknowledging their years of service.

VI. Chairman presented to Trustee Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III a special Resolution in memory his late father, The Reverend Doctor Albert Dillard Tyson, Jr. Trustee Tyson was greatly moved and thanked everyone for providing this Resolution

#### VII. COMMITTEE REPORTS

Academic Affairs, Vice Chancellor, Angela Henderson, Finance, CFO, Kenneth Gotsch and Human Resources, Vice Chancellor, Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe. All committee reports were received and placed on file.

- VIII. Chairman recessed the meeting until the arrival of Trustee Clawson, during the recess, Chairman and Chancellor took photos with the Retirees
- IX. Chairman reconvened the meeting with the presentation of the Faculty Council Report Ellen Eason – Montgomery , Harold Washington College

#### X. CLOSED SESSION

Chairman called for a motion to hold closed session pursuant to 2c1, 2c2 and 2c11, for discussion of personnel, collective bargaining and litigation matters

#### XI. MEETING RECONVENED

Chairman informed the board that there was no action taken in closed session

#### XII. REVIEW OF BOARD REPORTS

Chairman called for a review of the June board reports with the Vice Chancellors and the Trustees Item 1.03 was withdrawn and Item 4.01 was deferred until the July 14<sup>th</sup> meeting.

# XIII. APPROVAL OF BOARD REPORTS Motion for approval of the June 3<sup>rd</sup> 2010 board packet

# XIV. ADJOURNMENT Meeting Adjourned at 11.05 a.m.

Trustee Terry E. Newman Board Secretary

#### Submitted by Assistant Board Secretary, Regina M. Hawkins