#### **30761** APROVED - BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 DECEMBER 2, 2010

# BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

## MINUTES

## **REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY – NOVEMBER 4, 2010**

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, was held on Thursday, November 4, 2010 at 9:00 a.m., was held at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606 and called to order at 9:17 a.m.

#### **ATTENDEES**

#### TRUSTEES

Martin Cabrera, Jr., Chairman Terry E. Newman, Secretary Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III Nancy J. Clawson Gloria Castillo Everett Rand Gwendolyn Fulgern, Student Trustee

#### **ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY**

Regina M. Hawkins

#### CHANCELLOR

Cheryl L. Hyman

#### **GENERAL COUNSEL**

James Reilly

## CHIEF OF STAFF

**Ronny Anderson** 

CHIEF ADVISOR TO THE BOARD Jaime Guzman

**PROVOST AND CHIEF ACADEMIC OFICER** Angela Henderson

**TREASURER** Dolores Javier

#### **OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT**

Kenneth Gotsch, CFO, Office of Finance Craig Lynch, Vice Chancellor Office of Information Technology Michael Daigler, Vice Chancellor Office of Development Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe, Vice Chancellor Office of Human Resources Alvin Bisarya, Vice Chancellor, Strategy and Institutional Intelligence Michael Mutz, Vice Chancellor, Client Services and Student Engagement Diane Minor, Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services and Procurement

#### **COLLEGE PRESIDENTS**

President Jose Aybar, Daley College Interim-President, John Metoyer, Harold Washington College President John Dozier, Kennedy-King College President Ghingo Brooks, Malcolm X College President Clyde El-Amin, Olive-Harvey College Interim President Lynn Walker, Truman College President Charles Guengerich, Wright College

## FACULTY COUNCIL

Ellen Eason-Montgomery-President, Harold Washington College

## **OTHER STAFF**

Helen Henry	Janice Powell	Cecilia Lopez
Jennifer Seldon	Desiree R. Hemphill	Jan Stepte Millett
Shawn Burnett-Whitaker	L. Murphy	Erik Avila
Perry Buckley	Michael Ruggeri	Onfrestih Abdow
Joy Walker	Anthony Johnston	Simon Visser
Robert Blackwood	Dr. Christine Balesten	Ellen Eason-Montgomery
Cynthia Armster	Franklin Reynolds	Randy Barnett
Audrey Butler	Ana King	Lisa Hernandez
Veronica Clemons	Cris Sayre	Ray Sanders
Leonard Etlinger	Francisco Espinal	Rose Dicinto-Dora
Rebecca Ford	Viviana Morano	Robert Yacoub
John Gasiorowski	LaTonya Orange	Lizette Richardson
Antonio Guiterrez	Latrice Holcomb	Alexis Resendiz
Derrick Harden	Jim Frankenberg	E.J. Krzyanski
Cheiko High	Jim Mark	Alicia Anzaldo
Dolores Javier	Sucejmen Methmedgic	Helen Rarick
Sheila Johnson	Mel Anderson	Lonnie Hall
Danielle Kerry	Brian Alexander	George Thomson
Greg King	Jane Barnes	
Josephine Mancilla	Sydney Hart	
Harriet Neely	Phil Sticdy	
Eugene Nichols	Barbara Krzewinh	
Ralph Passarelli	Tenelle Barnes	
Melissa Reardon-Henry	Don Kogg	
Edward Maziur	J.R. Dempsey	
Delores Withers	Charles Minton	
Rochelle Robinson-Dukes	Norma Romanowski	
	Katheryn Hayes	

#### I. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

Board Secretary, Trustee Terry Newman called the meeting to order at 9:20 a.m. and established that there was a quorum.

- II. Trustee Newman asked Mr. Martin Cabrera, Jr. to take a few moments to share with the Board a little bit about his background.
- III. The next order of business was the election of the Board Chairman to fill the vacancy left by Mr. Gery Chico. Trustee Newman asked for nominations for the office of the Chairman of the Board.
- IV. Once the nominations were closed Trustee Newman asked for a motion for approval of Resolution 1.00 to elect Martin J. Cabrera Jr. as the Chairman of the Board. Motion was carried and the vote was unanimous. Gavel was then turned over to the Chairman.

V. Chairman Cabrera officially began chairing the meeting. His first order of business was to ask Chancellor Hyman to present the recent District updates.

## VI. SPEAKERS TO ADDRESS THE BOARD

There were two requests to address the Board: Mr. Perry Buckley, President, Local 1600 and Ms. Joy Walker, President, Truman College, Faculty Council.

## VII. <u>CLOSED SESSION</u>

Chairman called for a motion to hold closed session pursuant to 2c1, 2c5, and 2c11 (personnel, litigation and real estate matters).

## VIII. MEETING RECONVENED

Chairman informed the board that there was no action taken during closed session, The meeting was reconvened at 10:39 a.m.

## IX. <u>REVIEW OF THE NOVEMBER BOARD REPORTS</u>

Chairman called for an oral review of the November Board reports from the Vice Chancellors. There were no questions or comments.

## X. <u>COMMITTEE REPORTS</u>

Chairman addressed the Trustees to call on the Vice Chancellors to review the committee reports

Trustee Gloria Castillo, Chairperson - Human Resources Presented – Vice Chancellor, Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe

Trustee Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III, Chairperson – Academic Affairs Presented – Provost Angela Henderson

Trustee Nancy Clawson, Chairperson – Finance Presented – Kenneth Gotsch, CFO, Finance Craig Lynch, Vice Chancellor, OIT Diane Minor, Vice Chancellor, Administrative Services/Procurement

## ALL COMMITTEE REPORTS WERE RECEIVED AND PLACED ON FILE

# XI. <u>APPROVAL OF NOVEMBER 4, 2010 BOARD REPORTS</u>

11.1 Chairman asked for a motion to approve the October 7, 2010 Board Minutes and the October 14, 2010 Special Board Meeting Minutes.

Motion was carried, Minutes were approved unanimously.

**11.2** Chairman asked for a motion to approve the December 2, 2010 Board packet. Motion was carried. Board packet approved unanimously.

# XII. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Ellen Eason–Montgomery, Harold Washington College presented the report and submitted a written copy to the Assistant Board Secretary.

## XIII. ADJOURNMENT

Chairman asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and the meeting was adjourned at 11:25 a.m..

TRUSTEE TERRY E. NEWMAN BOARD SECRETARY

SUBMITTED BY ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY, REGINA M. HAWKINS