#### 30488

## ADOPTED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 August 5, 2010



# BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

## **MINUTES**

# REGULAR BOARD MEETING WEDNESDAY JULY 14, 2010

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, scheduled on Wednesday, July 14, 2010 at 9:00 a.m., was held at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606 and called to order at 9:12 a.m.

## **ATTENDEES**

### **TRUSTEES**

Gery J. Chico, Chairman
James A. Dyson, Vice Chairman (Absent)
Terry E. Newman, Secretary
Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III
Nancy J. Clawson
Gloria Castillo
Ralph G. Moore
Gwendolyn Fulgern, Student Trustee (Absent)

## **ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY**

Regina M. Hawkins

### **CHANCELLOR**

Cheryl L. Hyman

### **GENERAL COUNSEL**

James Reilly

### **TREASURER**

**Dolores Javier** 

### **ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES**

Diane Minor, Associate Vice Chancellor

### **OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT**

Vice Chancellor, Angela Henderson, Academic Affairs Kenneth Gotsch, CFO, Finance Jim Gonsiorek, Deputy CIO Michael Mutz, Vice Chancellor Office of Development Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe, Vice Chancellor Human Resources

### **COLLEGE PRESIDENTS**

President Jose Aybar, Daley College
President John Wozniak, Harold Washington
College
President John Dozier, Kennedy-King College
President Ghingo Brooks, Malcolm X College
President Clyde El-Amin, Olive-Harvey College
Interim President Lynn Walker, Truman College
President Charles Guengerich, Wright College

### **FACULTY COUNCIL**

Ellen Eason-Montgomery-President, Harold Washington College

### **OTHER ATTENDEES**

Eugenia Krzyzanski Jane Barnes Jeanelle Goodar Audrey D. Butler Ashley Boyd Jan Stepto Millett Amanda D. Rodriguez Craig Lynch Lakeena Holmes Cris Sayre Ronny Anderson Brenden Igbo Keith McCov Alvin Bisarya Vernese E. Walden Len Etlinger Paul Davis Rebecca Ford Ed Choklek Antonio Guiterrez Mike Daigler Derrick Harden Geneieve Nolan **Dolores Javier** 

**Delores Withers** Phoebe Wood Fidel Barrera Jennifer Seldon Helen Henry

Lizzette Richardson LeRoy Davis Tenelle Barnes LaTonya Orange

Chris Wilkerson

Josephine Mancilla Harriet Neely Mary Spagnolo **Eugene Nichols** Gail Steffen Melissa Henry-Reardon

Sheila Johnson

Danielle Kerry

Greg King

Simon Visser **Charles Smith** 

#### T. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Gery J. Chico called the meeting to order at 9:17 a.m. and asked that everyone stand to recite the pledge of allegiance.

#### II. ROLL CALL

Chairman asked Assistant Board Secretary to call roll. The record reflected that there was a quorum.

#### III. CLOSED SESSION

Chairman called for a motion to hold closed session pursuant to 2c1, 2c2, and 2c11

#### IV. MEETING RECONVENED

Chairman informed the board that there was no action taken in closed session

#### V. CHANCELLOR, CHERYL L. HYMAN, RECENT DISTRICT UPDATES

## VI. REVIEW OF BOARD REPORTS WITH OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

VII. CHAIRMAN INFORMED THE BOARD THAT HE WOULD ABSTAIN FROM VOTING ON ITEM 4.03 (ARCHITECURAL ENGINEERING SERVICES PRELIMINARY PLANNING FOR TWO STORY ELEVATOR, HAROLD WASHINGTON). ITEMS 4.04 AND 4.05 WERE WITHDRAWN.

## VIII. COMMITTEE REPORTS

Academic Affairs, Vice Chancellor, Angela Henderson, Finance, CFO, Kenneth Gotsch and Human Resources, Vice Chancellor, Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe. Committee reports were received and placed on file.

IX. APPROVAL OF BOARD REPORTS

Motion for approval of the July 14<sup>th</sup> 2010 board packet

## X. FACULTY COUNCIL REPORT

Professor Ellen Eason – Montgomery, Harold Washington College. Professor Montgomery also invited several of her students from the middle college to attend the meeting, as part of a class assignment. The students were also introduced.

XI. ADJOURNMENT
Meeting Adjourned at 11:19 a.m.

Trustee Terry E. Newman Board Secretary

Submitted by Assistant Board Secretary, Regina M. Hawkins