30094



ADOPTED – BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 APRIL 15, 2010

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT NO. 508 County of Cook and State of Illinois

MINUTES

REGULAR BOARD MEETING THURSDAY, MARCH 4, 2010

Pursuant to provisions of the Public Community College Act, as amended, of the State of Illinois, County of Cook, the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, scheduled on Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 9:30 a.m., was held at the District Office, 226 W. Jackson Boulevard, Room 300, Chicago, IL 60606 was called to order at 9:44 a.m.

TRUSTEES

James C. Tyree, Chairman
James A. Dyson, Vice Chairman
Terry E. Newman, Secretary (Absent)
Rev. Albert D. Tyson, III
Nancy J. Clawson
Gloria Castillo
Ralph G. Moore
Antony Chungath, Student Trustee (Absent)

ASSISTANT BOARD SECRETARY

Regina M. Hawkins

CHANCELLOR

Cheryl l. Hyman

GENERAL COUNSEL

James Reilly

TREASURER

Dolores Javier

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

Diane Minor, Associate Vice Chancellor

OFFICERS OF THE DISTRICT

Vice Chancellor, Angela Henderson- Academic Affairs CFO, Finance - Kenneth Gotsch Interim Vice Chancellor, Kathy Linenberger-Information Technology Vice Chancellor, Michael Mutz- Office of Development Vice Chancellor, Xiomara Cortes-Metcalfe- Human Resources

COLLEGE PRESIDENTS

President Jose Aybar, Daley College
President John Wozniak, Harold Washington College
President John Dozier, Kennedy-King College
President Ghingo Brooks, Malcolm X College
President Clyde El-Amin, Olive-Harvey College
Interim President Lynn Walker, Truman College
President Charles Guengerich, Wright College

FACULTY COUNCIL

Ellen Eason-Montgomery in for President Dr. Keith McCoy, Wright College

OTHER ATTENDEES

Harriett Neelv Kim Nishimoto Perry Buckley Jason Memmen Harvey Henao Audrey Butler Jacquie Hood Martin Joelle Isidore Len Etlinger Cris Savre Rebecca Ford Elsa Tullos Eleanor Novoseloven Michael Thibodeaux Antonio Guiterrez Charles Smith Sheryl Cartledge Derrick Harden Maggie Garcia Cecilia L. Lopez Valerie Highsmith Jim Gonsiorek Pat Collins **Dolores Javier** Lisa Hernandez Latrice Holcomb Charles Mustari Chris Wilkerson Terri Noon **Eugene Nichols** Alice Gray-Lewis Jane Barnes Ralph Passarelli Deborah Terrell Sonia Powell Simon Visser

Avelyn Isada John Rizzo Melissa Reardon-Henry

Jan Stepti-MillettShawn KoesteringEd MaziuerMike MayoRay SandersPhoebe WoodTerri NoonNancy DunnEvelyn AppletonKellie CaudillRandy BarnettAnna MoralesKatie SeemanDelores WithersBuvern Francisco

Danielle Kerry John Sugrue Arthur Wood Jasmika Cook

Jenn Kastigar

Chairman Tyree called the meeting to order at 9:44 a.m.

First Order of Business

Chairman Tyree called for a <u>motion</u> at 9:46 a.m. to hold closed session pursuant to 2(c)(1) and 2(c) (2)and 2c)(11) for discussion of personnel, collective bargaining and litigation: <u>motion so moved – Trustee Tyson, second Trustee Moore.</u> There was one recommendation for an action to be taken, Resolution 1.06 to adopt the appointment of Cheryl L. Hyman, Chancellor, City Colleges of Chicago. Closed session ended at 10:56 a.m. and the open meeting was reconvened at 10:58 a.m.

Second Order of Business

Once open meeting reconvened and the motion was passed for approval of Chancellor, Chairman Tyree asked Chancellor Hyman to give remarks on her background, education and a few of the goals she would like to see completed as part of her vision for City Colleges of Chicago.

Chairman Tyree requested that the board reports listed below be reviewed with the Vice Chancellors and all other board reports be deferred until the April 15th board meeting.

RESOLUTIONS

30074 To Set Tuition, Fees and Charges for Board Programs 30075 Appointment of Cheryl Hyman Chancellor, City Colleges of Chicago

PERSONNEL

30076 Personnel Report – Appointments
 30077 Personnel Report – Resignations
 30078 Personnel Report – Retirements

- **30079 Personnel Report Terminations**
- 30080 Personnel Report Continuing Education Assignments Summary
- 30081 Personnel Report Lectureships and Faculty Overtime Assignments

AGREEMENTS

- 30082 Annual Building Repair Contract Mechanical/HVAC Systems District Wide
- 30083 Bookstore Operation District Wide (Amend Board Report #29006 Adopted 10-2-08)
- 30084 Amendment Banking and ATM Services JP Morgan Chase Office of Finance All Colleges and District Office (Amend Board Report #29309 Dated 3-5-09 and #28617, Adopted 2-7-08) [Ratification Payment]
- 30085 Higher Learning Commission Conference District Wide
- 30086 Wilbur Wright College's National Science Foundation Funded Field Research Project In Kenya's Arabuko-Sokoke Forest

Third Order of Business

Chairman Tyree requested review of all committee reports. (Academic Affairs and Student Services, Finance, Office of Information Technology and Administrative Services.)

All committee reports were received and placed on file

Fourth Order of Business

<u>Chairman Tyree asked for a motion for approval of board reports 30074 to 30086 motion so moved – Trustee Tyson, second – Trustee Dyson,</u> by a unanimous affirmative voice vote of the six voting members present and the Student Advisory vote were approved.

The reports listed below are the deferred board reports

Fifth Order of Business

Faculty Council Report, Professor Ellen Eason-Montgomery in the absence of Dr. Keith McCoy

Sixth Order of Business

Chairman Tyree gave special thanks to the Trustees, Vice Chancellors, President's and Assistant Board Secretary for all of their help during his ten years as Chairman. He also acknowledged the challenges that we faced as well as the accomplishments. He was given a standing ovation and the Trustees presented him with a crystal gavel for his ten years. Remarks were made from all Trustees and Officers of the District

ADJOURNMENT

On <u>motion</u> by Chairman Tyree <u>motion so moved – Trustee Tyson, second – Trustee Dyson</u> the March 4, 2010 regular board meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 508, County of Cook and State of Illinois, was adjourned at 11:28 a.m. by a unanimous affirmative voice vote of the six voting members present.

Trustee Terry E. Newman Board Secretary